Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The first try came out like a professionally prepared dessert! Can it be prepared ahead of time up to the step of baking I - still want to serve it warm & gooey. Can it be baked in one large cake pan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I never leave bad reviews but I followed the recipe exactly and they were flat and the lava part wasn't there! If you ask me all I tasted was salt so do even bother putting the salt in! Once again I will say this was a horrible cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Just made this recipe but with a little twist: I added a hand full of chopped walnuts to the batter, it is absolutely wonderful, very simple to make and perfectly proportioned when you have a little sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctburkne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I also tried this recipe and it turned out like a cookie. It didn't raise. I don't see a raising ingredient in the recipe so I don't know how it could work. I followed every instruction in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Wow turned out as expected. followed the directions to a t... and my family was impressed. so was I lol. wouldn't change a thing. The timing when you let them cool is the key, baked for 16 minutes, cool 15 min, exactly, any more rest and the lava will not flow like it should. Thank you chef John ...another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Chef John please don't pour your ingredients over top of the whisk, it sticks and makes it hard to cleaaaannnnn.SCRAPE THE SIDES OF YOUR BOWL. #ain'tnobodygottimeforthat ........ jkjk nice video but for real scrape dat bowl jkjk =just kidding just kiddig (are we kidding about the first just kidding?) scrape your bowl = scrape your bowl dont pour over the whisk = pour to the side of the $%#$ whisk not over the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarmenHam
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Instead of 2 egg yolk I use one. Bake for 10mins n felt it's a little over. Going to set at 8mins tomorrow. Going to cut sugar. I forget to dust with icing. Otherwise would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarmenHam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I followed this exactly....except I forgot to put in the refrigerator. But it turned out like it should. It was a very good recipe and easy to make. For me I don't like the real strong chocolate taste. Will it hurt if I only use 2 tsp. of cocoa and use some kind of milk chocolate instead of the dark chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Flavour was good, but the texture was poor and the cake didn't exhibit the crispy on the outside/pudding on the inside it's supposed to. There is too little batter even for 4 cakes - and they didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Wonderful. I did not refrigerate the batter and did not cook it in a bath of water. I cooked it at 425 for about 12 minutes. I don't have ramekins so I used my clear pyrex custard cups. I put all four in a square 8X8 clear glass pyrex dish. They were perfect. Next time, I may cook them one or two more minutes. Very easy to make. I turned them over about a minute after I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States