Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by leelee85
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe was amazing & I loved the video. I feel it really helped me get the consistency right (Especially with the egg mixture. Chef John, I do NOT have your arm strength. . . My hubby helped out though!) This was by far the best dessert I have ever made! I did put them into only two bigger rammekins so I had to add approx 10 more minutes to the bake time, but it was well worth the extra wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The flavors were very good! I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate disks and Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa. The only problem is it was underbaked. I had them in the oven for 19 minutes. The bottoms were all liquid. I will make them again (they're easy enough) and bake them 22 to 25 minutes and see what happens. But the guys still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sasi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Turned out great perfect looking cake ever. Made it in my small electric oven took About 25 monuted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Little disappointed. The batter didn't seem to rise as it baked. At 15min, the sides didn't seem to be set so I baked for another 5. Came out like a brownie. My ramekins were a bit bigger so may double recipe next time or use only two ramekins instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
No flavor, no molten lava, no thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My wife really liked this. It came out as described, the center was good but to me the cake was not that favorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The first time I made this, I was not so successful. (Left it in the oven too long). I made it a second time and it was so yummy! When I host a meal at my house, this is the dessert that everyone wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The first try came out like a professionally prepared dessert! Can it be prepared ahead of time up to the step of baking I - still want to serve it warm & gooey. Can it be baked in one large cake pan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I never leave bad reviews but I followed the recipe exactly and they were flat and the lava part wasn't there! If you ask me all I tasted was salt so do even bother putting the salt in! Once again I will say this was a horrible cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Just made this recipe but with a little twist: I added a hand full of chopped walnuts to the batter, it is absolutely wonderful, very simple to make and perfectly proportioned when you have a little sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctburkne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States