Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe suck. I try it 2 and it didnt came out like a molten lava cake. Sucks this recipe should be taken off the recipe list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but this recipe was straight up horrible to leave it plain and simple. I followed the recipe by the dot and I was really excited because the recipe looked stupendous and I had guests over that day. I ate the cake with some homeade whipped cream, but once I tried the molten lava cake I was extremely dissapointed. I could tell my guests didn't like it as well because they always compliment me when I make other dishes or desserts, but there was just pure silence while everyone ate the inedible lava cake. Also, later that night I had a stomach ache from the lava cake because it was way to heavy. If your reading this do yourself a favor and leave this page and try a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good. Came out perfectly for a Valentine's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent. I had never made molten lava cake before. I've now used this recipe 4 times and it came out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great dessert! Made it for Valentine's and was delicious my husband was very excited he loves dark chocolate so this was perfect. Had it alone but with vanilla ice cream it would be great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a super easy and tasty recipe. The end product will be as good as the quality of the chocolate you use, so be sure to use a high quality baking chocolate. I don't recommend the water bath as it caused my cakes to bake unevenly (slightly ironic considering the wonders they do for cheesecakes). My first batch, the top half of the cake looked done when the bottom half was still completely runny. If I had baked them for any longer, the top would have been overcooked. The second batch I didn't use the water bath and they came out perfect, no problems releasing the cakes from the ramekins. Even after keeping in the fridge for 2 days, I found that the best time/temperature combo for my oven was 350F for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe/video exactly and it turned out perfectly. My stove tends to bake hot, so I cooked 16 minutes on the nose. I used heart shaped ramekins and served with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. People were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made a half recipe of this for my husband & I for our Valentine's dessert. We really liked it. I did end up leaving it in the fridge for about 2 hours before I baked it. But it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the directions as stated. It tasted great but didn't have the lava like consistency I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States