Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Wonderful. I did not refrigerate the batter and did not cook it in a bath of water. I cooked it at 425 for about 12 minutes. I don't have ramekins so I used my clear pyrex custard cups. I put all four in a square 8X8 clear glass pyrex dish. They were perfect. Next time, I may cook them one or two more minutes. Very easy to make. I turned them over about a minute after I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
have made this recipe 4 times assuming I was doing something wrong because it was alway way to lava(y). bottom would not cook for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was fantastic! I used the recipe exactly and this was just so wonderful! My nieces and I made them together and they were smitten! I used a hand mixer though because it got hard to mix on it's own. But these were fantastic!!! I would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Mmmmm, it was delicious -- even though I screwed up! In step #12, I poured too much water, a little over half, and when it was time to serve, the center wasn't as creamy as it should've been. Next time, I know this will be perfect! Thank you Chef John for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
The flavor was great but mine ended up being cooked all the way through. I guess I kept it in the oven for too long? I had never used a water bath before and it was very difficult for me. It worked for my chocolate fix but I think I'll be looking for a different lava cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruit-pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband for Father's Day. At 15 minutes, the batter was still runny, which is unusual for my oven. I ended up baking the cakes for another 10 minutes. The cake was wonderful! Nice crumb on the outside and rich, gooey chocolate on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I tired this recipe for a Father's day treat. Instead of baking at 425, I lowered the temp to 415 (my oven is a little hot for most recipes) and left it in for only 13 minutes and it was too overdone. It was slightly gooey inside but not at all what I was hoping for/expecting; did not match the picture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T and the cakes came out dense, didn't rise, and had no liquid center. It tasted like a fluffy, dark, rich brownie. It was okay with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
LOOOOOOOOved it! Just like the lava cakes at Animal Kingdom Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States