Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Flavour was good, but the texture was poor and the cake didn't exhibit the crispy on the outside/pudding on the inside it's supposed to. There is too little batter even for 4 cakes - and they didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Wonderful. I did not refrigerate the batter and did not cook it in a bath of water. I cooked it at 425 for about 12 minutes. I don't have ramekins so I used my clear pyrex custard cups. I put all four in a square 8X8 clear glass pyrex dish. They were perfect. Next time, I may cook them one or two more minutes. Very easy to make. I turned them over about a minute after I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
have made this recipe 4 times assuming I was doing something wrong because it was alway way to lava(y). bottom would not cook for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was fantastic! I used the recipe exactly and this was just so wonderful! My nieces and I made them together and they were smitten! I used a hand mixer though because it got hard to mix on it's own. But these were fantastic!!! I would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Mmmmm, it was delicious -- even though I screwed up! In step #12, I poured too much water, a little over half, and when it was time to serve, the center wasn't as creamy as it should've been. Next time, I know this will be perfect! Thank you Chef John for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
The flavor was great but mine ended up being cooked all the way through. I guess I kept it in the oven for too long? I had never used a water bath before and it was very difficult for me. It worked for my chocolate fix but I think I'll be looking for a different lava cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruit-pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for my husband for Father's Day. At 15 minutes, the batter was still runny, which is unusual for my oven. I ended up baking the cakes for another 10 minutes. The cake was wonderful! Nice crumb on the outside and rich, gooey chocolate on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I tired this recipe for a Father's day treat. Instead of baking at 425, I lowered the temp to 415 (my oven is a little hot for most recipes) and left it in for only 13 minutes and it was too overdone. It was slightly gooey inside but not at all what I was hoping for/expecting; did not match the picture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T and the cakes came out dense, didn't rise, and had no liquid center. It tasted like a fluffy, dark, rich brownie. It was okay with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States