Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by leelee85
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe was amazing & I loved the video. I feel it really helped me get the consistency right (Especially with the egg mixture. Chef John, I do NOT have your arm strength. . . My hubby helped out though!) This was by far the best dessert I have ever made! I did put them into only two bigger rammekins so I had to add approx 10 more minutes to the bake time, but it was well worth the extra wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The flavors were very good! I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate disks and Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa. The only problem is it was underbaked. I had them in the oven for 19 minutes. The bottoms were all liquid. I will make them again (they're easy enough) and bake them 22 to 25 minutes and see what happens. But the guys still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sasi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Turned out great perfect looking cake ever. Made it in my small electric oven took About 25 monuted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Little disappointed. The batter didn't seem to rise as it baked. At 15min, the sides didn't seem to be set so I baked for another 5. Came out like a brownie. My ramekins were a bit bigger so may double recipe next time or use only two ramekins instead of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
No flavor, no molten lava, no thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My wife really liked this. It came out as described, the center was good but to me the cake was not that favorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The first time I made this, I was not so successful. (Left it in the oven too long). I made it a second time and it was so yummy! When I host a meal at my house, this is the dessert that everyone wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The first try came out like a professionally prepared dessert! Can it be prepared ahead of time up to the step of baking I - still want to serve it warm & gooey. Can it be baked in one large cake pan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I never leave bad reviews but I followed the recipe exactly and they were flat and the lava part wasn't there! If you ask me all I tasted was salt so do even bother putting the salt in! Once again I will say this was a horrible cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Just made this recipe but with a little twist: I added a hand full of chopped walnuts to the batter, it is absolutely wonderful, very simple to make and perfectly proportioned when you have a little sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctburkne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States