Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but I followed the recipe by the dot and I was really excited because the recipe looked stupendous and I had guests over that day. I ate the cake with some homeade whipped cream, but once I tried the molten lava cake I was extremely dissapointed. I could tell my guests didn't like it as well because they always compliment me when I make other dishes or desserts, but there was just pure silence while everyone ate the inedible lava cake. It was way to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good. Came out perfectly for a Valentine's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent. I had never made molten lava cake before. I've now used this recipe 4 times and it came out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great dessert! Made it for Valentine's and was delicious my husband was very excited he loves dark chocolate so this was perfect. Had it alone but with vanilla ice cream it would be great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a super easy and tasty recipe. The end product will be as good as the quality of the chocolate you use, so be sure to use a high quality baking chocolate. I don't recommend the water bath as it caused my cakes to bake unevenly (slightly ironic considering the wonders they do for cheesecakes). My first batch, the top half of the cake looked done when the bottom half was still completely runny. If I had baked them for any longer, the top would have been overcooked. The second batch I didn't use the water bath and they came out perfect, no problems releasing the cakes from the ramekins. Even after keeping in the fridge for 2 days, I found that the best time/temperature combo for my oven was 350F for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe/video exactly and it turned out perfectly. My stove tends to bake hot, so I cooked 16 minutes on the nose. I used heart shaped ramekins and served with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. People were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made a half recipe of this for my husband & I for our Valentine's dessert. We really liked it. I did end up leaving it in the fridge for about 2 hours before I baked it. But it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed the directions as stated. It tasted great but didn't have the lava like consistency I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Decadent chocolate heaven in your mouth! lol soooo good me and the hubbs couldn't even finish one by ourselves it was so rich! But that's a good thing! Will definitely make this again and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States