Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect and got rave reviews. I made the batter and placed it in the ramekins the day before and refrigerated it covered with plastic wrap. I baked them in the oven just as we sat down for our main course. They baked for about 17 minutes. They inverted onto the plates very easily and because they were still hot, the lava poured out beautifully. We served them with vanilla ice cream. I always make these just prior to eating them otherwise the lava firms up if made too early. This recipe is the best I've ever tasted!! I used dark dipping chocolate and used an electric mixer for the eggs. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out perfect. One time I doubled it and it still turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made these 2 nights ago. I followed the recipe to a T. I live in Northern Europe so I had no access to Ghirardelli chocolate, so we got a good quality dark chocolate to make these. I have to say, our lava cakes made with 79% cacao dark chocolate were a tad too rich for my daughter. She needed a lot of vanilla ice cream to have hers. However, to my boyfriend and I these were maná from heaven, dark, rich, and barely sweet; a perfect accompaniment to the ice cream, in our case, Movenpick Vanilla. So, keep this in mind if you do use very dark chocolate, as the recipe only calls for 3 tbs. of sugar to sweeten it up. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
it didnt came out like a molten lava cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but I followed the recipe by the dot and I was really excited because the recipe looked stupendous and I had guests over that day. I ate the cake with some homeade whipped cream, but once I tried the molten lava cake I was extremely dissapointed. I could tell my guests didn't like it as well because they always compliment me when I make other dishes or desserts, but there was just pure silence while everyone ate the inedible lava cake. It was way to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good. Came out perfectly for a Valentine's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent. I had never made molten lava cake before. I've now used this recipe 4 times and it came out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great dessert! Made it for Valentine's and was delicious my husband was very excited he loves dark chocolate so this was perfect. Had it alone but with vanilla ice cream it would be great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karman
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a super easy and tasty recipe. The end product will be as good as the quality of the chocolate you use, so be sure to use a high quality baking chocolate. I don't recommend the water bath as it caused my cakes to bake unevenly (slightly ironic considering the wonders they do for cheesecakes). My first batch, the top half of the cake looked done when the bottom half was still completely runny. If I had baked them for any longer, the top would have been overcooked. The second batch I didn't use the water bath and they came out perfect, no problems releasing the cakes from the ramekins. Even after keeping in the fridge for 2 days, I found that the best time/temperature combo for my oven was 350F for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe/video exactly and it turned out perfectly. My stove tends to bake hot, so I cooked 16 minutes on the nose. I used heart shaped ramekins and served with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. People were licking their plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States