Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I made it as written. It wasn't sweet enough for me. The recipe is fine if you like it less sweet. I may try it again with a less dark chocolate bar or more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach_mom2maddie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I've made Chocolate Lava cakes before, but I couldn't find my recipe, so I used this one. I'm not sure what happened, but they came out rubbery and didn't have a liquid center. Also, the flavor did not have that great chocolate taste. I cooked for 18 minutes and I let them cool for the recommended 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I'll admit I'm not much of a baker but I wanted to make something special for my husband and I and this looked like something fun to try. These turned out great but I did over cook them a little bit. They were still very good and stayed very moist so my husband didn't even notice I'd overdone them! Thank you for adding all the tips into how to prepare, very helpful for a new baker like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaltadonis
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
No Lava!! Tasted ok, but even with taking it out a few minutes early we had no lava center. I think it must have to do with what size/shape of ramekin you bake it in. Mine might be wide and shallow compared to some 5 1/2 oz ramekins. I think the key is that the batter has more depth than width. The flavor was nice, rich, and chocolatey....just no lava which was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Lower temp and bake less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Fantastic! Sad for me that I can make it so fast..... #WeightLossSmeightLoss I topped it off with home made whipped cream... Ugggg me want more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilactime
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is so easy and so impressive. I used ghirardelli intense dark Cabernet chocolate. Truly decadent! I used my stand mixer to beat the eggs and sugar then mixed everything else by hand. My batter was not thick at all so I did not use a pastry bag. I baked them for 18 minutes and they were perfect. I plan on making these for company soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Ahh, delicious perfection! These turned out so rich and light on the outside and all gooey chocolate goodness on the inside! I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made them and they were awesome! The second time, I did add a bit more vanilla extract and liked that even better. I have even made these using almond extract for another taste delight. Thanks Chef John for giving us a little bit of chocolaty heaven in a ramekin! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Absolutely amazing! They're so delicious my daughter insisted to add milk in the ramekin so not to waste any single bit of the cake. My husband asked why the cake was so small. LOL... To avoid the center not being runny like some reviewers had experienced, I took the advice to place a piece of chocolate in center of the batter before baking. There are 8 squares of chocolate in a bar. I simply save 2 squares from the bar of chocolate, break each square in half and put in each ramekin. Which means I only melt 6 squares with the butter. The cakes turn out moist and the center is runny. So easy to make and fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Chef John's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies that are the best of both cookie worlds, crispy and chewy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States