Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I tried the recipe expecting something good based on all these other reviews - the lava cake was not crunchy on the outside, not sweet enough, and didn't flow like a normal lava cake should. Sorry but it's a fail. I'm glad I only tried making half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
the best thing I have ever made :) My nephew loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwithcoco
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. My tip is to now over mix the mixture. There will be weird air bubbles. Definitely a recipe to keep. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
OH MY GOSH!!!!! THESE ARE THE BEST THINGS I HAVE EVER PUT IN MY BODY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Made this for me and the hubby late one night when we wanted a hit of chocolate. It delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Not what I expected... not really runny in the centre, just gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect and got rave reviews. I made the batter and placed it in the ramekins the day before and refrigerated it covered with plastic wrap. I baked them in the oven just as we sat down for our main course. They baked for about 17 minutes. They inverted onto the plates very easily and because they were still hot, the lava poured out beautifully. We served them with vanilla ice cream. I always make these just prior to eating them otherwise the lava firms up if made too early. This recipe is the best I've ever tasted!! I used dark dipping chocolate and used an electric mixer for the eggs. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out perfect. One time I doubled it and it still turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made these 2 nights ago. I followed the recipe to a T. I live in Northern Europe so I had no access to Ghirardelli chocolate, so we got a good quality dark chocolate to make these. I have to say, our lava cakes made with 79% cacao dark chocolate were a tad too rich for my daughter. She needed a lot of vanilla ice cream to have hers. However, to my boyfriend and I these were maná from heaven, dark, rich, and barely sweet; a perfect accompaniment to the ice cream, in our case, Movenpick Vanilla. So, keep this in mind if you do use very dark chocolate, as the recipe only calls for 3 tbs. of sugar to sweeten it up. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
it didnt came out like a molten lava cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but I followed the recipe by the dot and I was really excited because the recipe looked stupendous and I had guests over that day. I ate the cake with some homeade whipped cream, but once I tried the molten lava cake I was extremely dissapointed. I could tell my guests didn't like it as well because they always compliment me when I make other dishes or desserts, but there was just pure silence while everyone ate the inedible lava cake. It was way to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States