Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Tasted great, I over-cooked it, so it wasn't really a lava cake but it was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Harper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, New York, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
the lava cake was not crunchy on the outside, not sweet enough, and didn't flow like a normal lava cake should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
the best thing I have ever made :) My nephew loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwithcoco
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. My tip is to now over mix the mixture. There will be weird air bubbles. Definitely a recipe to keep. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
OH MY GOSH!!!!! THESE ARE THE BEST THINGS I HAVE EVER PUT IN MY BODY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Made this for me and the hubby late one night when we wanted a hit of chocolate. It delivered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Not what I expected... not really runny in the centre, just gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect and got rave reviews. I made the batter and placed it in the ramekins the day before and refrigerated it covered with plastic wrap. I baked them in the oven just as we sat down for our main course. They baked for about 17 minutes. They inverted onto the plates very easily and because they were still hot, the lava poured out beautifully. We served them with vanilla ice cream. I always make these just prior to eating them otherwise the lava firms up if made too early. This recipe is the best I've ever tasted!! I used dark dipping chocolate and used an electric mixer for the eggs. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out perfect. One time I doubled it and it still turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made these 2 nights ago. I followed the recipe to a T. I live in Northern Europe so I had no access to Ghirardelli chocolate, so we got a good quality dark chocolate to make these. I have to say, our lava cakes made with 79% cacao dark chocolate were a tad too rich for my daughter. She needed a lot of vanilla ice cream to have hers. However, to my boyfriend and I these were maná from heaven, dark, rich, and barely sweet; a perfect accompaniment to the ice cream, in our case, Movenpick Vanilla. So, keep this in mind if you do use very dark chocolate, as the recipe only calls for 3 tbs. of sugar to sweeten it up. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
it didnt came out like a molten lava cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States