Chef John's Chili Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Awesome cookies! I like to try my best and make the recipes the first time exactly like they are written but I had a hard time finding dark chocolate chips. I substituted the left over 2 ozs of bittersweet chocolate from the 4oz bar, chopping it into 1/2 inch pieces. I used good chocolate, fresh ground black pepper and opened a new jar of cayenne. I baked them on parchment at 350 for 12 minutes, cooled on the pan for 5 minutes and transferred to the rack. I had a "warm" cookie and one that had set a couple of hours. I preferred the one which sat as the flavor was much better. Oh and it was so good with a cup of espresso. Thank you so much for the recipe! BTW this is my first review after trying many, many recipes. They were that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this recipe just as Chef John said to, right down to the grinding of the black pepper. But it was that pepper that made me rate this a 4 rather than a 5. We thought 1/2 teaspoon of the black pepper was just a little too much, and for that ingredient in a cookie, that is more important than if this were a main dish of some sort. I would suggest trying only 1/4 teaspoon. I loved how the cookies retained their shape and how wonderfully chocolatey they are. I baked them on parchment for 11 minutes and that was perfect---just a little underdone in the middle. It was hard to find the currants, but Sprouts had them! I got about 30 cookies with a 2-tablespoon scoop. I'll definitely make these again with my adjustment. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was fascinated by this combination even though I have tried other similar recipes. I followed this exactly, except for omitting the currants in one half. For my taste, I found the amount of cayenne pepper too overpowering against the very strong taste of the chocolate. I also preferred the batch without the currants. The video presentation was most helpful, but I wished I had watched it first because I beat the eggs and sugar until thick and it made the cookies too puffy. In the video version,chef John just blended everything with a whisk. Further, the currant mixture as well as the chocolate can both be done in the microwave, making this a very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent recipe. A crowd pleaser. Currants are hard to find in our area, so I used dried cranberries which add a little hint of tartness to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Awesome cookie! Very rich and decadent with complex flavor. I made a few changes- used cranberries instead of currants, 2 tbsp very strong coffee instead of kahlua, halved the black pepper, doubled the cinnamon and used 3/4 tsp freshly ground dried chilis instead of cayenne. I also topped each cookie with a small chunk of candied chili pepper before baking. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The cookies are fabulous. Not inexpensive, but fabulous. I don't substitute ingredients in a recipe, so what you see is what you get. Did I say fabulous? Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG - These cookies are WONDERFUL! I've pinned them on Pinterest, posted them on Facebook and am giving out batches in my annual cookie offerings. I've rated them "PG-13" because small humans may not appreciate the way these wonderful cookies bite back, but I promise it's just a little nip - just enough to let you know there's some pepper in there somewhere. I followed the recipe exactly and they all came out perfectly. The hardest part was making them uniform in size and shape, but I was more than happy to eat the "misshapen" cookies ... I'll be make another batch before the 2012 holiday season is over! YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Now THIS is chocolaty ! Loved the "2 steps" expansion of the taste in mouth : 1st the chocolate and when you think it's all over then the pepper araises to tickle your senses - actually a kind of sexy cookies indeed ! ;-) Skipped the coffee flavour when making them again and liked them even better (that's why only 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I tried using Splenda this time and they didn't turn out as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe but without the Kahlua because I can't take alcohol. The recipe was good but it was too much chocolate for my taste. I would add 1 cup walnuts instead of more chocolate chips. Other than that, I thought it was really good. I love the pepper and the cayene pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States