Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I used chicken thighs and served it over creamy mashed potatoes and WOW was it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was very simple to make and tasted every bit as good as he said it would. Do as he says and judge for yourself. This really doesn't require any extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
note to self - couldn't find boneless with the skin on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Simplicity. The recipe is as simple as you can get and demonstrates what a simple sauce can do, as it brings the flavors of the pan together. As others did, I added a few of my own ingredients that needed to be used: red pepper, diced; onion, diced; and sherry to deglaze the pan which brought out the sweetness of the pepper and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Girls4Me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I followed this simple recipe for the most part except that I substituted a 1/2 cup of white wine instead of the water in Step 6. It added that little sumthin' to the shrooms that put it over the top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I tried this exactly as the recipe said....absolutely delicious! It didn't need anything else added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this for dinner last night almost as written. We only use boneless, skinless chicken so the skinless part was the change. However a nice high heat under my stainless steel pan and I still got a nice crispy coating with some of those little brown, flavorful pieces. I was a bit concerned that it might be a little bland but to my surprise this dish has a very nice flavor and texture component to it. Served it with some saffron rice and sautéed zucchini and carrots and it was a winner. Goes into our rotation. We eat a lot of chicken so anytime I can get a performer like this one, I am golden. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Really enjoyed and will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is outstanding! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs which I liberally salted and peppered. I tripled the amount of mushrooms and sauce ingredients. Aside from the tripling of ingredients, I followed exactly. If you're a fan of mushrooms, this recipe is for you! If you love Chef John as I do, try his grilled mongolian pork chops. To die for! BTW, I used cremini mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out absolutely awesome. Chicken was moist and tender, mushrooms were flavorful (I used portobella). I will definitely be making this again and just maybe I'll deglaze the pan with a little white wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States