Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This dish is easy to make and I often times make a batch and freeze individual breasts and take them to the office for lunch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is such a wonderfully simple and delicious recipe! Like Chef John said, it's a baseline to be used to make your own creations, add your own personal touches. As is, it's flavorful and dinner-worthy, and a great learning technique for beginners. Well done Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Another great recipe by Chef John. I loved this chicken recipe!!! I didn't have bone in chicken breasts so I used what I had, boneless skinless. I knew that the timing would be much less with this cut so I checked the chicken at ten minutes and they had reached 175 at that point. I used cremini mushrooms and subbed 1/2 the amount of water for a dry white wine. The chicken was so moist and the mushroom added so much flavour. Thanks again Chef John, another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Taught me a lot. Love his videos. I use this cooking method for a lot of stuff now. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Recipe was simple- overall flavor was a little lacking with the chicken itself. I chose not to add more salt to the mushrooms (figured I have enough sodium between the salt rubbed on chicken and the butter) so maybe I needed to do that for the sauce, which might have in turn helped the chicken and its blandness. If add the salt next time and maybe even some white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this in a pinch with what I had on hand, boneless skinless breasts, canned mushrooms, onion powder on the mushrooms. Husband judged it a keeper and has asked for it again. That makes it five stars in my recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
It was easy to do and tasted good. Nothing fancy but flavorful and the chicken is not dry at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Simple but absolutely tasty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
FRIENDS this is one of the tastiest and juiciest chicken dishes ever. Follow the recipe as chief John describes, do not add or change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaDolce

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I substituted white wine for the water, because I had some I needed to use up. It was awesome! I'd double if not triple the mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States