Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Family absolutely loved it! Will definitely make again. I will probably add a bit of ginger for the chicken. I added a bit of flour to the sauce to make it more like a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Want something so simple, that you will find yourself guessing whether or not you missed an item? Then you found it with this one! My favorite Chef John recipe and only 6 ingredients! This dish is so dang healthy and tasty too! So, the secret? Don't change a dang thing!!! Follow his instructions word for word. Watch the video, play it while cooking too! When you think something must have been missed, play the video again and relax. You will LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
A little too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe couldn't be easier and OMG so good!! My family couldn't get enough. This is going on my "go-to" dinner recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I tried this exactly as Chef John did it - no extra ingredients. I'm not that great of a cook (that's my wife's department) but this was so easy, and it got her (and my) seal of approval. Of course, as Chef John suggests, I will try different variations, but his point that a delicious entree can come out of two basic ingredients was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Okay, so this was a great meal! I made a few alterations. I added garlic to the olive oil while browning the chicken. I also added onion in with the mushroom for added flavor before baking the chicken. Instead of water, I used chicken stock (though probably should have used water because I think the stock may have made it a tad too salty). I also sprinkled cajun seasoning on top of the chicken just because I really love cajun seasoning. I say this next part with humility because I knew better....One of the reviews on here even said to throw something over the handle of the skillet so you don't burn yourself while finishing the mushrooms. I didn't. I burned my hand....twice. So for future cooks who may be slightly absent minded or multi task...ABSOLUTELY throw something over the handle after pulling it out of the oven. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Vance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Way too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Absolutely superb! My wife and I came to the conclusion some time ago that the simplest meals are the ones we most often enjoy the most. Therefore, when I saw this recipe I knew I wanted to try it. For the first time I did it exactly as Chef John did. It turned out fabulous! We could taste the pure simple flavours of the chicken and mushrooms together, and loved every bite. Next time perhaps I'll try substituting white wine for the water to see how that turns out. However, it'd pretty hard to top what we just finished for supper 15 minutes ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This was good, but I think it could have been better. I did make a couple of changes. I didn’t have skin-on chicken breasts, so I had to use skinless, and I cut back on the oil by about half. I also skipped using the oven altogether and finished cooking the chicken in the pan, and kept it warm in the oven, while I sautéed the mushrooms and made the sauce. The sauce was very, very thin, so I would try to thicken that up next time. And I also thought that although the water worked, I think it would have been better using wine or a broth/wine combination. I will try this again with those alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States