Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I added a handful of spinach and a splash of pinot grigio at the end . Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Quick, easy, and delicious! Perfect weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Winters Kaltenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Living In: Oak Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Family absolutely loved it! Will definitely make again. I will probably add a bit of ginger for the chicken. I added a bit of flour to the sauce to make it more like a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Want something so simple, that you will find yourself guessing whether or not you missed an item? Then you found it with this one! My favorite Chef John recipe and only 6 ingredients! This dish is so dang healthy and tasty too! So, the secret? Don't change a dang thing!!! Follow his instructions word for word. Watch the video, play it while cooking too! When you think something must have been missed, play the video again and relax. You will LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
A little too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe couldn't be easier and OMG so good!! My family couldn't get enough. This is going on my "go-to" dinner recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I tried this exactly as Chef John did it - no extra ingredients. I'm not that great of a cook (that's my wife's department) but this was so easy, and it got her (and my) seal of approval. Of course, as Chef John suggests, I will try different variations, but his point that a delicious entree can come out of two basic ingredients was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Okay, so this was a great meal! I made a few alterations. I added garlic to the olive oil while browning the chicken. I also added onion in with the mushroom for added flavor before baking the chicken. Instead of water, I used chicken stock (though probably should have used water because I think the stock may have made it a tad too salty). I also sprinkled cajun seasoning on top of the chicken just because I really love cajun seasoning. I say this next part with humility because I knew better....One of the reviews on here even said to throw something over the handle of the skillet so you don't burn yourself while finishing the mushrooms. I didn't. I burned my hand....twice. So for future cooks who may be slightly absent minded or multi task...ABSOLUTELY throw something over the handle after pulling it out of the oven. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Vance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Way too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States