Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this for dinner last night almost as written. We only use boneless, skinless chicken so the skinless part was the change. However a nice high heat under my stainless steel pan and I still got a nice crispy coating with some of those little brown, flavorful pieces. I was a bit concerned that it might be a little bland but to my surprise this dish has a very nice flavor and texture component to it. Served it with some saffron rice and sautéed zucchini and carrots and it was a winner. Goes into our rotation. We eat a lot of chicken so anytime I can get a performer like this one, I am golden. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Really enjoyed and will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is outstanding! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs which I liberally salted and peppered. I tripled the amount of mushrooms and sauce ingredients. Aside from the tripling of ingredients, I followed exactly. If you're a fan of mushrooms, this recipe is for you! If you love Chef John as I do, try his grilled mongolian pork chops. To die for! BTW, I used cremini mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
BIG QUESTION! WHERE does one FIND 'boneless,skin-on chicken breasts'??? If it's a 'do-it-yourself' project, please provide instruction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out absolutely awesome. Chicken was moist and tender, mushrooms were flavorful (I used portobella). I will definitely be making this again and just maybe I'll deglaze the pan with a little white wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I substituted water for 1/4 C white wine, reduced, added 1/2 C heavy cream, reduced, added 1 tsp. fresh thyme chopped, then finished as written, mounted with the butter, pour sauce with mushrooms over chicken and serve. Was more flavorful than the original version (which I tried first with stock instead of water), and richer which suited my palate more. But pretty darn good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made as the recipe indicated, and the chicken was awesome. I used Kosher salt and cracked pepper. Not sure if that made a difference, but YUMM! Very juicy. I think I may add onions next time like someone suggested because I love them. Great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tell City, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Very good. I would do this again. Difficult to find boneless chicken breasts *with* the skin, so I made do with skinless/boneless breasts. My cooking time was shorter. But a good recipe that's easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Had to use skinless chicken breasts, but they were delicious. Really juicy and flavorful. I would definitely make this again. Very easy to prepare and the prep time was fast. My husband thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This recipe is just as good as Chef John made it sound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States