Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Okay, I failed the temptation to not add anything else. It was very subtle, but I will not say what I did. It's irrelevant. I can tell you that this dish is simply delicious, and you MUST try it. Just try not to alter it. The simplicity is kinda mind blowing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
So simple and delicious. I hardly ever make anything new so I was nervous, but the meal turned out so well. We used butter instead of Olive Oil and Bone-in Chicken and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this last night with some steamed broccoli. Only change I made was using Half Breasts instead of boneless. But that was personal preference. It was an amazing exercise in simplicity. Loved it, and will definitely use this as a base for making my own chicken dinners. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Memphis Dad
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Really flavorful, tender chicken even though I used skinless breasts. I added a little soup base granules with the water to compensate for the lack of skin, since Chef John said the skin was essential to flavor. I used fresh shiitakes pre-sliced at the supermarket. This is the first time I have used a skillet in the oven so I had to go buy a stainless steel pan that was oven safe to 400. I thought it was silly that they felt compelled to warn me on the label that the handle would be hot when removed from the oven. Yet here I am soaking my fingers in an ice water bath because I forgot to use a mitt. Regardless, delicious dish and will make again with proper PPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
So easy to do, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Octavian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
so simple, i love to use natural food flavors rather than adding additional herbs and spices that overwhelm them. can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I usually like Chef John's recipes, but I wasn't impressed with this one. I know the goal was simplicity, and it was quick and easy, but I wasn't happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LittleMissAoife
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used fresh Irish Chestnut mushrooms, and added some sliced garlic and chopped parsley to them when I removed the pan from the oven. Really simple but very tasty meal. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
OMG.. this has to be one of the best recipes i've ever tried from this site.. we both love mushrooms so this was perfect for us.. it tasted like pure comfort food.. served this with mashed potatoes and some mexican squash we sauteed in some of the sauce/drippings.. we were in heaven.. we couldn't stop gushing over how awesome this was.. 5 stars is an understatement.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So easy and delicious. I love to cook but don't want to spend all my time in the kitchen. This is a good recipe for a very flavorful meal with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYHILLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States