Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this with skinless chicken breast and it was still delicious. My very picky 12 year old son even loved it! It is the perfect meal for a busy family and I find it amazing that two ingredients cooked properly can be so tasty. Well done Chef John! I am looking forward to making it next time with skin-on chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was super easy and so delicious! I added onion which was excellent. This does not taste like such an easy dish- and it looks beautiful! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts as well. YUM~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Breig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
REALLY GOOD Have made many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
We looooved this! I added a half an onion to the mushrooms in the pan, and found that when the chicken was done cooking the mushrooms were perfectly flavored, no need to make the sauce. I also used a combination of butter and coconut oil which added great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This dish is easy to make and I often times make a batch and freeze individual breasts and take them to the office for lunch. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is such a wonderfully simple and delicious recipe! Like Chef John said, it's a baseline to be used to make your own creations, add your own personal touches. As is, it's flavorful and dinner-worthy, and a great learning technique for beginners. Well done Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Another great recipe by Chef John. I loved this chicken recipe!!! I didn't have bone in chicken breasts so I used what I had, boneless skinless. I knew that the timing would be much less with this cut so I checked the chicken at ten minutes and they had reached 175 at that point. I used cremini mushrooms and subbed 1/2 the amount of water for a dry white wine. The chicken was so moist and the mushroom added so much flavour. Thanks again Chef John, another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Taught me a lot. Love his videos. I use this cooking method for a lot of stuff now. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Recipe was simple- overall flavor was a little lacking with the chicken itself. I chose not to add more salt to the mushrooms (figured I have enough sodium between the salt rubbed on chicken and the butter) so maybe I needed to do that for the sauce, which might have in turn helped the chicken and its blandness. If add the salt next time and maybe even some white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this in a pinch with what I had on hand, boneless skinless breasts, canned mushrooms, onion powder on the mushrooms. Husband judged it a keeper and has asked for it again. That makes it five stars in my recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States