Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Sauce was quite thin and didn't have much flavor, though I think the cayenne pepper actually saved it. It was fun trying a different version of the Chicken and Dumplings I usually prepare. Thanks for the post Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michelleauer
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Just finished making this. Followed the recipe and video exactly. It is SO good and SO easy! I've never had success with making dumplings until tonight, and it is getting thumbs up from the whole family. Watch the video, it makes it impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Fun to make and great to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. My changes will include, half prepared chicken stock/half water (not enough flavor for me), more carrot and celery. I used a slightly larger chicken and appreciated the additional meat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My wife loves to make chicken and dumplings, so I thought I'd surprise her with this more advanced recipe. I was a little disappointed. IT was very watery with very little flavor. The dumplings cooked up nice and fluffy, but I think the recipe my wife uses found on the bak of a bisquik box beats this recipe hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Excellent made as recipe states. If you want to "zip it up" hit it with some Tony's Louisiana Seasoning. I think he spells his name Tony Chattere' of something like that. Dynomite in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! For those who thought it a little bland, you may have missed the step "season to taste." I omitted cayenne pepper to make it a little more kid-friendly, and added kale to the broth with the chicken to make it a one pot meal. Also, as per the suggestion of another reviewer, I stored the leftover dumplings separately from the soup to preserve the broth & consistency of the dumplings. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but most home-made comfort food recipes are. My husband loved it and the kids liked it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
wow, this recipe was AWESOME!! i only changed 2 things: i used fresh rosmary, chopped very finely, in addition to the thyme, and i thickened up the broth a bit more than chef did. i did use homemade creme freche for the dumplings (leftover from the stroganof) and be sure to use self-rising flour as chef suggests. it makes a world of difference. stew was fantastic, but the dumplings were OUT OF THIS WORLD!! light, fluffy, yet with a good bite to them, they didnt turn to mush in your mouth. my very fussy husband, who insists he doesnt like dumplings or "soggy bread" gobbled these up. i think it is imperative to use the self-rising flour like chef suggests.....i have made it with, and without (using plain flour, baking powder, etc) and there is a huge difference. if you are hesitant to buy a bag of self-rising flour just for this recipe, check out chef johns peach cobbler. really, you cant go wrong with any of his recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I couldn't remember how my mom made C&D, so I was glad to see the video for this and made it (except only using chicken breasts). Excellent stuff! I use milk or half and half instead of creme fraiche, and I'll vary on seasonings, but if you need a good basic C&D recipe, this one's wonderful! My husband loves homemade dumplings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States