Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michelleauer
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Just finished making this. Followed the recipe and video exactly. It is SO good and SO easy! I've never had success with making dumplings until tonight, and it is getting thumbs up from the whole family. Watch the video, it makes it impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was SO GOOD! Of course, there was never any doubt that it would be since it was a Chef John recipe. I almost didn't get a picture since my family was hovering around the stove waiting for this to be done like a pack of wild animals. They had been smelling it cooking for almost two hours and couldn't wait. I personally would have preferred a thicker, stew like consistency, and next time I'll probably try to thicken it a little more. However the flavor was PERFECT. The cayenne pepper gave it such a nice depth of flavor. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Fun to make and great to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious with no changes! LOVE this chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Excellent made as recipe states. If you want to "zip it up" hit it with some Tony's Louisiana Seasoning. I think he spells his name Tony Chattere' of something like that. Dynomite in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Loved it, easy and great. I used a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was really GOOD!! I used my old dumpling recipe because I didn't have self-rising flour or creme fraiche but followed the rest of it exactly. Mine was a little "brothy"; might try adding a little more flour next time. Added full 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. Made it a little warm but certainly not too hot! My daughter ate 3 helpings!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. My changes will include, half prepared chicken stock/half water (not enough flavor for me), more carrot and celery. I used a slightly larger chicken and appreciated the additional meat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made it last night. All gone today. It is light and simple and dumplings are awesome. Next time i would cut the dough by half though, because i was left with half of the dough unused. A keeper. Thank you, chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I LOVE this soup! This big dumpling was a huge hit. I used chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken which saved time, and the meat was tender. I didn't have any creme fraiche available so used yogurt instead, plus some chicken broth in the dough, and the dumpling was very smooth and flavorful. I will make this again on any time I need warm comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States