Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Sauce was quite thin and didn't have much flavor, though I think the cayenne pepper actually saved it. It was fun trying a different version of the Chicken and Dumplings I usually prepare. Thanks for the post Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michelleauer
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Just finished making this. Followed the recipe and video exactly. It is SO good and SO easy! I've never had success with making dumplings until tonight, and it is getting thumbs up from the whole family. Watch the video, it makes it impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Fun to make and great to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. My changes will include, half prepared chicken stock/half water (not enough flavor for me), more carrot and celery. I used a slightly larger chicken and appreciated the additional meat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Excellent made as recipe states. If you want to "zip it up" hit it with some Tony's Louisiana Seasoning. I think he spells his name Tony Chattere' of something like that. Dynomite in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My wife loves to make chicken and dumplings, so I thought I'd surprise her with this more advanced recipe. I was a little disappointed. IT was very watery with very little flavor. The dumplings cooked up nice and fluffy, but I think the recipe my wife uses found on the bak of a bisquik box beats this recipe hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I couldn't remember how my mom made C&D, so I was glad to see the video for this and made it (except only using chicken breasts). Excellent stuff! I use milk or half and half instead of creme fraiche, and I'll vary on seasonings, but if you need a good basic C&D recipe, this one's wonderful! My husband loves homemade dumplings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family did not like this recipe. They especially did not like the dumplings. I thought it smelled good but it wasn't very flavorful. I made this EXACTLY as written and I felt it was costly to make. The creme fraiche was $7.00 for a small container but I bought it because the reviews said it really made the recipe. Sorry but this will not be seen in my kitchen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! For those who thought it a little bland, you may have missed the step "season to taste." I omitted cayenne pepper to make it a little more kid-friendly, and added kale to the broth with the chicken to make it a one pot meal. Also, as per the suggestion of another reviewer, I stored the leftover dumplings separately from the soup to preserve the broth & consistency of the dumplings. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but most home-made comfort food recipes are. My husband loved it and the kids liked it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States