Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Sauce was quite thin and didn't have much flavor, though I think the cayenne pepper actually saved it. It was fun trying a different version of the Chicken and Dumplings I usually prepare. Thanks for the post Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michelleauer
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Just finished making this. Followed the recipe and video exactly. It is SO good and SO easy! I've never had success with making dumplings until tonight, and it is getting thumbs up from the whole family. Watch the video, it makes it impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Fun to make and great to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. My changes will include, half prepared chicken stock/half water (not enough flavor for me), more carrot and celery. I used a slightly larger chicken and appreciated the additional meat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My wife loves to make chicken and dumplings, so I thought I'd surprise her with this more advanced recipe. I was a little disappointed. IT was very watery with very little flavor. The dumplings cooked up nice and fluffy, but I think the recipe my wife uses found on the bak of a bisquik box beats this recipe hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Excellent made as recipe states. If you want to "zip it up" hit it with some Tony's Louisiana Seasoning. I think he spells his name Tony Chattere' of something like that. Dynomite in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! For those who thought it a little bland, you may have missed the step "season to taste." I omitted cayenne pepper to make it a little more kid-friendly, and added kale to the broth with the chicken to make it a one pot meal. Also, as per the suggestion of another reviewer, I stored the leftover dumplings separately from the soup to preserve the broth & consistency of the dumplings. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but most home-made comfort food recipes are. My husband loved it and the kids liked it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
wow, this recipe was AWESOME!! i only changed 2 things: i used fresh rosmary, chopped very finely, in addition to the thyme, and i thickened up the broth a bit more than chef did. i did use homemade creme freche for the dumplings (leftover from the stroganof) and be sure to use self-rising flour as chef suggests. it makes a world of difference. stew was fantastic, but the dumplings were OUT OF THIS WORLD!! light, fluffy, yet with a good bite to them, they didnt turn to mush in your mouth. my very fussy husband, who insists he doesnt like dumplings or "soggy bread" gobbled these up. i think it is imperative to use the self-rising flour like chef suggests.....i have made it with, and without (using plain flour, baking powder, etc) and there is a huge difference. if you are hesitant to buy a bag of self-rising flour just for this recipe, check out chef johns peach cobbler. really, you cant go wrong with any of his recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! I didn't have creme fraiche so I used sour cream plus I subsituted buttermilk for the milk. To add alittle thickness to the soup base one can of cream of chicken soup really did the trick. The biscuits were so light and fluffy but still had great texture and flavor. 'My family loves alittle heat...so I added a jalapeno cut lengthwise during the cooking process and fished it out before adding the dumplings! Most definetly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States