Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I couldn't remember how my mom made C&D, so I was glad to see the video for this and made it (except only using chicken breasts). Excellent stuff! I use milk or half and half instead of creme fraiche, and I'll vary on seasonings, but if you need a good basic C&D recipe, this one's wonderful! My husband loves homemade dumplings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Our family loved this even though I forgot that I did not have self-rising flour - and did not add the baking powder and 1 teaspoon fine table salt, per Chef John's note! My dumplings went to the bottom - and although they tasted good, they were heavy. I will try again with the next time i make this! Also - thanks for the video. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I've made this recipe once as stated and I was disappointed with the results except for the dumplings. I make my chicken soup from a roasted chicken and I make my broth from the bones from the chicken and roast them with some root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family did not like this recipe. They especially did not like the dumplings. I thought it smelled good but it wasn't very flavorful. I made this EXACTLY as written and I felt it was costly to make. The creme fraiche was $7.00 for a small container but I bought it because the reviews said it really made the recipe. Sorry but this will not be seen in my kitchen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Has anyone made this in a crock or slow cookr? If so, do steps to prepare change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMYT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! For those who thought it a little bland, you may have missed the step "season to taste." I omitted cayenne pepper to make it a little more kid-friendly, and added kale to the broth with the chicken to make it a one pot meal. Also, as per the suggestion of another reviewer, I stored the leftover dumplings separately from the soup to preserve the broth & consistency of the dumplings. The recipe is a little time-consuming, but most home-made comfort food recipes are. My husband loved it and the kids liked it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
My husband and I LOVED this recipe, the kids not so much. I think between the thyme in the dumplings and the soup, it was a little too "herby" for them. Next time I think I make half as many dumplings, with less thyme and store them separately as leftover (they absorbed ALL the soup while in the fridge). Very tastey food for people over 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I think this is absolutely delicious. I have made it twice. The first time was a disaster because I replaced the cream in the dumplings with sour cream and some flour. I had been to three grocery stores and couldn't find the one listed in the recipe. I had read that subbing crème fresh for sour cream was fine so I thought lets go backward. Ick. It turned into a mushy cottage cheese mess spread all over the yummy chicken. Almost inedible. The mixture the first time was so much soup that the second time I cut the liquids in half. Still a bit too much liquid for me. The first time I made it I had used homemade broth. The second time, I used canned broth and added a tablespoon of better than chicken bouillon. I cut up about 6 carrots each time. I used a simple recipe for dumplings that I had for the second time. I also don't buy whole chickens. The first time I put in a combination of thighs and breasts with bones in. The second time, I had boneless breasts so that's what I used. It worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States