Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I must admit the cooking of a whole chicken and then removing the meat was very daunting to me but I overcame my fear . Overall this recipe turned out to be a comforting delicious bowl of goodness. Tasted like good home cooked chicken soup with great dumplings.The biscuit dumplings were the biggest I've ever seen and one was plenty. I didn't have enough time to make the creme fraich (poor planning on my part) but as chef John explained sour cream worked just fine. Next time will try the creme fraich. Still was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krz660
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Just made it and posted my pic. Was delicious, though I did tweak it a bit. I used all buttermilk in the dumplings and repeated the thickening step 3 more times, as I like mine denser. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krz660

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made it as directed, except one thing - replaced the water with low sodium organic chicken stock, and halved the quantity as I prefer a stew consistency rather than soupy. Flavour was fantastic, and my hubby who was really apprehensive about the dumplings and the taste overall loved it. We all enjoyed the leftovers. Note - if you do not have self rising flour (I did not) it's easy to mix the flour with baking soda and salt, just make sure you measure the flour AFTER you have sifted it, otherwise you can easily get too much flour and ruin the recipe. I now try Chef John's recipes before anything else... and love his blog, he has lots more recipes as well as videos and techniques. (Only had one fail with a recipe of his and I should have known based on the ingredients that it was not for us.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
We thought the recipe was wonderful and we liked the thinner broth, so more of a soup for us. I did add a little extra carrot and celery as we like those veggies. The dumplings turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
The real deal. Real food not chemical mixes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family said these are the best homemade dumplings I have made! I used all chicken thighs, boneless and skinless, so I didn't simmer the whole hour, maybe half the time. Thanks again Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Adjusted by using 6 chicken leg quarters and a tablespoon of better than chicken bouillon as well as fresh poultry mix herbs. Doubled the carrot, onion and celery. We prefer the flat dumplings so used Mary B's brand which made this easier. Also made a roux in a side pan and slowly added some stock to make sure when added back to the pot it did not have a lumpy texture. Took advice of others and added some extra fresh herbs toward the end. Also threw in some frozen peas. EXCELLENT! I love your recipes, thank you for providing a recipe that is not cream soup based!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very good! I'd never had nor made Chicken and Dumplings before but my husband was very anxious for me to make this. Really just chicken soup I guess. I must say though, I do not make American dumplings...I just don't care for the taste of them. I made English ones with Suet and flour so I can't rate the dumpling portion but may try making them Chef John's way next time, because I notice they don't include baking powder or soda or whichever it is that make American dumplings taste the way they do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!The only thing I added, was my Mrs Dash with the blue cap and fresh garlic. I also recommend watching the video. It sure makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States