Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I was looking for a chicken & dumpling recipe to make for my mom's 92nd birthday. It had been years since I last made it. I trusted Chef Johns version because it looked to be closest to what I remember. I have made a few recipes from Chef John and each one turned out wonderful. We all loved it, so I'll save this recipe for next time. A cozy comfort dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! I didn't have creme fraiche so I used sour cream plus I subsituted buttermilk for the milk. To add alittle thickness to the soup base one can of cream of chicken soup really did the trick. The biscuits were so light and fluffy but still had great texture and flavor. 'My family loves alittle heat...so I added a jalapeno cut lengthwise during the cooking process and fished it out before adding the dumplings! Most definetly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I used to eat these as a kid but my Southern Belle wife likes her dumplings the way they are made in the South. I cooked this up and won her over. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made it last night. All gone today. It is light and simple and dumplings are awesome. Next time i would cut the dough by half though, because i was left with half of the dough unused. A keeper. Thank you, chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Loved it, easy and great. I used a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great basic recipe. My changes will include, half prepared chicken stock/half water (not enough flavor for me), more carrot and celery. I used a slightly larger chicken and appreciated the additional meat. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was really GOOD!! I used my old dumpling recipe because I didn't have self-rising flour or creme fraiche but followed the rest of it exactly. Mine was a little "brothy"; might try adding a little more flour next time. Added full 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. Made it a little warm but certainly not too hot! My daughter ate 3 helpings!! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was SO GOOD! Of course, there was never any doubt that it would be since it was a Chef John recipe. I almost didn't get a picture since my family was hovering around the stove waiting for this to be done like a pack of wild animals. They had been smelling it cooking for almost two hours and couldn't wait. I personally would have preferred a thicker, stew like consistency, and next time I'll probably try to thicken it a little more. However the flavor was PERFECT. The cayenne pepper gave it such a nice depth of flavor. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I LOVE this soup! This big dumpling was a huge hit. I used chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken which saved time, and the meat was tender. I didn't have any creme fraiche available so used yogurt instead, plus some chicken broth in the dough, and the dumpling was very smooth and flavorful. I will make this again on any time I need warm comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious with no changes! LOVE this chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States