Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Sauce was quite thin and didn't have much flavor, though I think the cayenne pepper actually saved it. It was fun trying a different version of the Chicken and Dumplings I usually prepare. Thanks for the post Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Everyone liked. Took about 1-1/2 hours to make (chicken needed to boil for 1 hour). But very tasty and better than package biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
First time boiling a whole chicken. It was fun! This dish is delicious and will stay in my recipe box forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My wife loves to make chicken and dumplings, so I thought I'd surprise her with this more advanced recipe. I was a little disappointed. IT was very watery with very little flavor. The dumplings cooked up nice and fluffy, but I think the recipe my wife uses found on the bak of a bisquik box beats this recipe hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLIEVSAY
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe yielded my first dumpling success! With other attempts, they turned out too thick and dense and dare I say brick like. This time they were so light and fluffy and not to mention super tasty! I made the dumpling portion of this almost exactly as directed expect I could not find creme Fraiche. However, Chef John did say you could sub it out so I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 heavy cream to equal the 1/2 cup creme fraiche. As for the soup portion, I was in a hurry so I cheated some and used a rotisserie chicken with store bought chicken stock. Would have been a good time to have some of Chef John's homemade stock on hand but store bought works in a pinch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLIEVSAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I was looking for a chicken & dumpling recipe to make for my mom's 92nd birthday. It had been years since I last made it. I trusted Chef Johns version because it looked to be closest to what I remember. I have made a few recipes from Chef John and each one turned out wonderful. We all loved it, so I'll save this recipe for next time. A cozy comfort dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! I didn't have creme fraiche so I used sour cream plus I subsituted buttermilk for the milk. To add alittle thickness to the soup base one can of cream of chicken soup really did the trick. The biscuits were so light and fluffy but still had great texture and flavor. 'My family loves alittle heat...so I added a jalapeno cut lengthwise during the cooking process and fished it out before adding the dumplings! Most definetly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I used to eat these as a kid but my Southern Belle wife likes her dumplings the way they are made in the South. I cooked this up and won her over. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made it last night. All gone today. It is light and simple and dumplings are awesome. Next time i would cut the dough by half though, because i was left with half of the dough unused. A keeper. Thank you, chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Loved it, easy and great. I used a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States