Chef John's Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Absolutely loved the texture of the dumplings. I added quite a bit of roux to give the base some body; I'm not a fan of dumplings on soup. This was the first chicken and dumpling (or dumplings of any kind) that my daughter had tried and she fell in love with them. I had no idea how much of anything to put in because I only watched the video and it came out great anyway. I used sour cream instead of creme-whatever and it worked just fine. I also added a small can of cream of chicken soup which added flavor and a bit of thickness. For those that think there isn't enough flavor; you know you can fix that, right? I'll be making this again real soon and making my own variations on the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Faegre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The first time I have made chicken and dumplings and this was a great guide. I added garlic when I was making the stock also used corn starch as the thicking agent instead of flour. Definitely will be made again my family really enjoyed the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved it! My first time making dumplings and they came out perfect! (I even added 8oz instead of 4oz sour cream/by accident) the only recommendation I have is...before you add the dumplings add 1 can cream of chicken soup & 2 Cups (or more) additional chicken broth & bring back to simmer. After I made mine I had way more dumpling than I did liquid so I took the dumplings off and did just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I couldn't remember how my mom made C&D, so I was glad to see the video for this and made it (except only using chicken breasts). Excellent stuff! I use milk or half and half instead of creme fraiche, and I'll vary on seasonings, but if you need a good basic C&D recipe, this one's wonderful! My husband loves homemade dumplings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Our family loved this even though I forgot that I did not have self-rising flour - and did not add the baking powder and 1 teaspoon fine table salt, per Chef John's note! My dumplings went to the bottom - and although they tasted good, they were heavy. I will try again with the next time i make this! Also - thanks for the video. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I've made this recipe once as stated and I was disappointed with the results except for the dumplings. I make my chicken soup from a roasted chicken and I make my broth from the bones from the chicken and roast them with some root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My family did not like this recipe. They especially did not like the dumplings. I thought it smelled good but it wasn't very flavorful. I made this EXACTLY as written and I felt it was costly to make. The creme fraiche was $7.00 for a small container but I bought it because the reviews said it really made the recipe. Sorry but this will not be seen in my kitchen anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Has anyone made this in a crock or slow cookr? If so, do steps to prepare change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMYT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States