Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was so easy to make. I am not a fan of spice so I omitted the wht pepper and cayenne . The broth was excellent and the fleur de Provence made the dish. Thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I could not give this 5 stars because like many others, I halved the pepper(s)amounts and omitted herbes de Provence(didn't have). Topped with my own homemade biscuits. It's a marvelous recipe, but very time-consuming. If you have that rainy morn or afternoon and are in your cooking mood, you can't go wrong. Give it 3-1/2 hours. Even with the time involved, it's lovely. But then again, I think I'm in love with Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this last night, it was a little time consuming to make but it came out good, didn't have tarragon so left that out, used cream instead of milk, and added more cayanne pepper than what it called for, and used pilsbury grand biscuits, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was quite time consuming and I swore I would not make it again however after I tasted it and my family raved about it I will make again. I followed the recipe with a few changes. I cut back on the cayenne, added some fresh green beans and used rosemary spice instead of fresh. I did use fresh Tarragon and it was exceptional. It is a must. I probably used too much of the chicken broth because I had to thicken it with additional flower before I added the chicken and herbs. I also did half of the biscuits with gluten free Bisquick. I try to eliminate wheat in all recipes. Even though there is flower the g-free Bisquick helps. I thought it was even better because the g-free biscuits sank into the chicken broth and seemed to absorb the spices and flavors. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Heaven!! Made exactly but with just a pinch of Cayenne cause husband doesn't like hot. BTW- a pinch of Cayenne marries all the other spices perfectly and does not add Hot. (Husband will never know Ha-ha). This is another keeper from Chef John! Chef John rocks and is my Hero!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Chef John, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but my mother always referred to the scum that you and I (as well as many others) remove is albumin. Sidebar on this: When my gramma made her chicken soup, she kept it at a low simmer and skimmed every last bit from the pot, resulting in golden yellow broth that was absolutely clear. Kugelblitz, whole cloves are found in your grocery store along with other spices and herbs. This recipe knocked our socks off, and I wasn't even wearing any! While I may adjust seasonings a bit next time, I made it according to the recipe. DH and I pigged out on it, and Himself took the rest to work, where he'll share with whichever one of his employees has first shift with him that day (they rotate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frederick Kahrs
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Quite delicious for a cold, rainy night. Very spicy and I like that but you can always adjust to your taste. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frederick Kahrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My whole family loved it! Time consuming, so I made a double batch using a large roasting pan, two chickens, and doubled the ingredients. I didn't use mushrooms, cayenne pepper or herbs de Provence but threw in some thyme instead. I used all dried herbs. Don't throw in extra liquid if it seems too thick as it will be great thicker later with the biscuits. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this tonight using grocery store rotisserie chicken, veggies off the store salad bar and boxed chicken stock - so good everyone had seconds. And my picky child had a third dish. So quick and easy I'll make this again. I can't imagine how good if I had cooked the chicken from scratch. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe! Unless you are brand new to cooking and either don't have experience yet or don't yet trust your own cooking instincts, you can just use your judgement regarding the types and amounts of spices you use in this or any recipe. For instance, I don't like a ton of pepper in my dishes, so I simply cut back the amount called for in this recipe and it was perfect for us. I also rarely put cayenne in recipes like this, so I left that out too. So for us, with these small changes, it is a five star recipe! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States