Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Loved it!! I decreased the cayenne by half and was still a little spicy for some though - fair warning. The family consensus was that it was just as good the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
A lot if work for a good-but-not-quite-outstanding dish. I started w a cooked rotisserie chicken in hopes of speeding things along, and I used purchased stock. It is a spicy dish even with only a couple of shakes of cayenne; if I make again, I might eliminate it entirely. Shred the chicken while the sauce cooks down; doing so would have saved me time, and I wish the recipe had been written that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Fantastic. Worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Freakin Awesome! The flavors and the consistency were beyond fantastic. I used chicken base in the water when first cooking the chicken which really added great flavor. The only complaint I have is that it took half the day to prepare it. This dish is so good, though, I will set aside a day and make a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
MADE THIS. WAS VERY EASY. liked this way of making this dish. plus you can get 3 different dishes using this technique. once again Chef John. Thank you! love your instructional videos. makes me feel Im right beside you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe takes comfort to a whole new level. The spices, the fresh herbs, all balanced well to give you a meal suited for a king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
5 stars very good.1/19/15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great recipe! The cayenne made me a little nervous but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
It was runny and I didn't like the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was really looking forward to some classic comfort food since Chef John advertised it was kind of three classic comfort food meals all times into one and I was so disappointed. First, let me start with what I did like. The chicken was most and delicious, and the sauce was the perfect consistency. The sauce was nice and creamy without being too heavy out thick. The reason I have it three stars was the herbs and spices. I think they're all wrong for this recipe. I'd recommend using thyme or another herb that you think goes well with the chicken in place of the tarragon. The tarragon simply overpowered the dish. My family loves spice, heat, and pepper. It was just way too much of just about everything. I'd recommend omitting entirely either the white or black pepper, just choose one, and reducing all other seasonings by about half at least. While I was making this recipe I was thinking that everything seemed out of whack quantity wise, but I decided against my gut trusting that since the recipe said it was submitted by a 'Pro Chef' that I should leave it up to the 'Pro.' I should've trusted my gut and adjusted everything spice/herb wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States