Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! All that work to cheap out on refrigerated biscuits is silly, though. I use the Bisquick drop dumpling recipe, put it in the oven for 12 minutes uncovered, and 12 minutes covered and it is amazing. If there are kids, I use half the cayenne pepper, but the rest of the seasonings are perfect. Made at least 10 times and shared, and it is an instant favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It's a good base recipe, but know your limits when it comes to pepper! I cut mine down to 1/2 tsp of cayenne and only a sprinkling of the black and white peppers, but that was too much heat for my preferences. This makes a hearty dish with very generous portions. It's fairly simple despite the long list of ingredients. I was also hesitant on the tarragon because I'm one of those people who gets put off by the licorice-y taste. I topped mine with the Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits on this site and that made a nice touch which helped to somewhat alleviate the peppery bite. My husband was impressed. Would season according to personal tastes, but would make again. I'm giving it four stars because I not everyone would be able to eat this if made exactly as written; still, it is a good recipe. Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was great! Used frozen biscuits as another reviewer mentioned, added 1 cube of Knorr's homestyle stock and omitted the mushrooms. It was fabulous and very, very tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Overall, we really liked the dish but were surprised by the peppery bite. Next time, I will leave out the cayenne completely and it will be perfect. Also, I didn't add the biscuits and served it over rice along with broccoli and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cgornik520
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe, I have made this several times now but usually adjust the seasoning because it is spicy. I also don't add the carrots anymore just because my daughter and I like it better without and just add a lot more mushrooms. But this is an awesome recipe with or without adjustments.. It has become our new favorite comfort food here. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Chef, loved this recipe! I was wanting comfort food and I got it with this dish. I did need to substitute a couple of ingredients in that we eat Primal and it worked beautifully. Coconut flour for all-purpose flour, heavy cream for milk, and no biscuits. I will definitely be making this again and again. Also, I loved the spices just the way they were written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I confess, I took a huge shortcut and used a Costco rotisserie chicken for this recipe. Hey, it saved me time! I didn't use celery (forgot to buy some) or the herbes de Provence because I didn't want to buy it just for this recipe and I don't like fennel. I followed the advice of previous cooks and halved the spices and it was still spicy. Just right for me as I like spicy food, but even at halved quantities it may be too spicy for some palates. I used Pillsbury Grands biscuits which were surprisingly salty. I checked the nutrition label afterwards and saw that one serving contains 24% of your DV of sodium! One tip, if you choose to go with a rotisserie chicken, keep in mind that it is already salted or brined and adjust the amount of salt you add to the stew mixture. Overall a good recipe and once you know the basics you can adjust the seasoning to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
awsome recipe! Next time I will reduce the pepper quantities--little too spicy for my taste, but otherwise--AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbiemaltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Great tasting broth. I used Pillsury Grands frozen biscuits instead. Combination of veggies is good. I added frozen peas also. The fresh herbs made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I gave this 3 stars because the basics are there for a good dish but it's not good as written. For starters, there is way, way too much pepper and it overpowers everything else. The last time I was around someone using this much pepper, they were heavy smokers and their taste buds were zilched. Start out by reducing the pepper asked to 1/2 or 1/3 and increase or reduce it from there next time. If you try to rush the dish and not let it simmer to thicken, then it will turn out very runny. I substitute frozen bisquits and they work out just fine and I like the flavor better than canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States