Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe takes comfort to a whole new level. The spices, the fresh herbs, all balanced well to give you a meal suited for a king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
5 stars very good.1/19/15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great recipe! The cayenne made me a little nervous but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
It was runny and I didn't like the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was really looking forward to some classic comfort food since Chef John advertised it was kind of three classic comfort food meals all times into one and I was so disappointed. First, let me start with what I did like. The chicken was most and delicious, and the sauce was the perfect consistency. The sauce was nice and creamy without being too heavy out thick. The reason I have it three stars was the herbs and spices. I think they're all wrong for this recipe. I'd recommend using thyme or another herb that you think goes well with the chicken in place of the tarragon. The tarragon simply overpowered the dish. My family loves spice, heat, and pepper. It was just way too much of just about everything. I'd recommend omitting entirely either the white or black pepper, just choose one, and reducing all other seasonings by about half at least. While I was making this recipe I was thinking that everything seemed out of whack quantity wise, but I decided against my gut trusting that since the recipe said it was submitted by a 'Pro Chef' that I should leave it up to the 'Pro.' I should've trusted my gut and adjusted everything spice/herb wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this for my family and it was awesome! It was so delicious. I will definitely be making this again. It does come out slightly spicy so if you don't like spicy maybe use less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used slightly less than 4 lbs. of chicken part because all whole chickens were much larger than 4 lbs. I was a bit thrown off by the 9 qt. stock pot. I used a 6 qt. and it was fine. I used dried tarragon but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It took all afternoon and while it was good I don't think it was worth the effort. My simple chicken and dumpling recipe is better and completely homemade. Sometimes simpler is better. My husband liked the spiciness, but with the time involved he won't see this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The cayenne is completely overwhelming! Left out the white pepper but used the full amount of black and cayenne and regretted it. It seemed to be a good enough recipe otherwise to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome! I found it to be a little spicy though, and I think the pepper takes away from the flavor of the stew itself. Next time I will cut the pepper way back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a really good recipe. The entire guest loved it. Maybe next time I will add one chicken breast to add more meat. This is a keeper. Great for a Sunday dinner. My sides were boiled corn and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States