Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great recipe, definitely a spiced up version of chicken & biscuits. Next time I might cut the pepper and paprika down but I will make it again, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Everyone loved it. I had to make gluten-free adaptations for my daughter, but it was still a hit. I hand made biscuits using Namaste Foods Gluten Free Biscuit mix. This recipe takes a lot of time so I will save it for special days or when I am craving comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was amazing! It was a bit time consuming but the end result was worth the time. I added less cayenne because of toddler and added some frozen mixed veggies before putting in the oven. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
It is delicious. I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne, though, as I have 2 young grandchildren to serve it to. I would say to start out with a smaller dose of cayenne, even for adults, and then go from there. Cayenne doesn't have a lot of flavor on its own, it is mostly heat. As for the prep time...it is always worth it to invest a little time in cooking...although I do understand time restraints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am writing my first Allrecipes review for a very worthy recipe. I thoroughly enjoyed making this dish although it took some time. It turned out fantastic! It is one of the best chicken dishes I have had. These are the changes I made: I didn't have a clove so I used 1 tsp ground cloves I didn't add the mushrooms or the chicken back into the sauce until the final step when I put the Dutch Oven in the oven (to prevent them from being overcooked) I cooked the veggies and butter in the Dutch oven for 25 minutes instead of 10 because it took a longer time for them to begin to become tender. I used 3/4 of the chicken stock and very gradually (so the sauce would be more thick) I used 1 cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup I used 2 tsp tarragon instead of 3 Tbsp I have never made a chicken stock and this recipe made a VERY tasty one. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! All that work to cheap out on refrigerated biscuits is silly, though. I use the Bisquick drop dumpling recipe, put it in the oven for 12 minutes uncovered, and 12 minutes covered and it is amazing. If there are kids, I use half the cayenne pepper, but the rest of the seasonings are perfect. Made at least 10 times and shared, and it is an instant favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It's a good base recipe, but know your limits when it comes to pepper! I cut mine down to 1/2 tsp of cayenne and only a sprinkling of the black and white peppers, but that was too much heat for my preferences. This makes a hearty dish with very generous portions. It's fairly simple despite the long list of ingredients. I was also hesitant on the tarragon because I'm one of those people who gets put off by the licorice-y taste. I topped mine with the Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits on this site and that made a nice touch which helped to somewhat alleviate the peppery bite. My husband was impressed. Would season according to personal tastes, but would make again. I'm giving it four stars because I not everyone would be able to eat this if made exactly as written; still, it is a good recipe. Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was great! Used frozen biscuits as another reviewer mentioned, added 1 cube of Knorr's homestyle stock and omitted the mushrooms. It was fabulous and very, very tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Overall, we really liked the dish but were surprised by the peppery bite. Next time, I will leave out the cayenne completely and it will be perfect. Also, I didn't add the biscuits and served it over rice along with broccoli and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cgornik520
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe, I have made this several times now but usually adjust the seasoning because it is spicy. I also don't add the carrots anymore just because my daughter and I like it better without and just add a lot more mushrooms. But this is an awesome recipe with or without adjustments.. It has become our new favorite comfort food here. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States