Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I first started making this recipe a couple of years ago. At first, I needed the video to help me, as I am in no way, shape, or form a chef. Now I know the recipe and can pretty much just glance and throw it together. Point is: It gets to be pretty simple after you've made it a couple times. This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! It is the perfect blend of everything and my family/friends think I am much more of a cook than I really am when I make it, which is a great thing. It's creamy and flavorful with a pretty decent kick, yet balanced out by the sweetness of the biscuits. [Note: I think one could use a tiny bit less spice, evenly proportioned down by maybe an eighth or quarter of teaspoon - the spices seem to all work their magic together, so to take out a little of one might ruin the harmony.] Thank you, Chef John! You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe many times since I first saw it fall of 2012; in fact I have bought 3 friends a porcelain Dutch oven to make this in so they could have it too. This is delicious and so worth the time spent preparing it. I look forward to cool weather just so I can make this! The recipe is wonderful just as it is. Try it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Great recipe, definitely a spiced up version of chicken & biscuits. Next time I might cut the pepper and paprika down but I will make it again, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Everyone loved it. I had to make gluten-free adaptations for my daughter, but it was still a hit. I hand made biscuits using Namaste Foods Gluten Free Biscuit mix. This recipe takes a lot of time so I will save it for special days or when I am craving comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was amazing! It was a bit time consuming but the end result was worth the time. I added less cayenne because of toddler and added some frozen mixed veggies before putting in the oven. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
It is delicious. I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne, though, as I have 2 young grandchildren to serve it to. I would say to start out with a smaller dose of cayenne, even for adults, and then go from there. Cayenne doesn't have a lot of flavor on its own, it is mostly heat. As for the prep time...it is always worth it to invest a little time in cooking...although I do understand time restraints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am writing my first Allrecipes review for a very worthy recipe. I thoroughly enjoyed making this dish although it took some time. It turned out fantastic! It is one of the best chicken dishes I have had. These are the changes I made: I didn't have a clove so I used 1 tsp ground cloves I didn't add the mushrooms or the chicken back into the sauce until the final step when I put the Dutch Oven in the oven (to prevent them from being overcooked) I cooked the veggies and butter in the Dutch oven for 25 minutes instead of 10 because it took a longer time for them to begin to become tender. I used 3/4 of the chicken stock and very gradually (so the sauce would be more thick) I used 1 cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup I used 2 tsp tarragon instead of 3 Tbsp I have never made a chicken stock and this recipe made a VERY tasty one. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! All that work to cheap out on refrigerated biscuits is silly, though. I use the Bisquick drop dumpling recipe, put it in the oven for 12 minutes uncovered, and 12 minutes covered and it is amazing. If there are kids, I use half the cayenne pepper, but the rest of the seasonings are perfect. Made at least 10 times and shared, and it is an instant favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It's a good base recipe, but know your limits when it comes to pepper! I cut mine down to 1/2 tsp of cayenne and only a sprinkling of the black and white peppers, but that was too much heat for my preferences. This makes a hearty dish with very generous portions. It's fairly simple despite the long list of ingredients. I was also hesitant on the tarragon because I'm one of those people who gets put off by the licorice-y taste. I topped mine with the Cheddar Onion Drop Biscuits on this site and that made a nice touch which helped to somewhat alleviate the peppery bite. My husband was impressed. Would season according to personal tastes, but would make again. I'm giving it four stars because I not everyone would be able to eat this if made exactly as written; still, it is a good recipe. Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was great! Used frozen biscuits as another reviewer mentioned, added 1 cube of Knorr's homestyle stock and omitted the mushrooms. It was fabulous and very, very tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States