Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I make lunch for my aging father 2-3 times a week. I try something new each time to keep him interested in eating. My father isn't very verbal so I don't expect much thanks although I know deep down he appreciates my effort. With that being said, I dropped this meal off and left to do errands. Imagine my surprise when I returned to find a hand-written note from Dad telling me it was "Very good baby girl!" (yes it had an exclamation point) I didn't change a thing and now every other Saturday is now known as "Satay Saturday" per my Dad's request. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These burgers were delicious. I ate mine as lettuce wraps! They did remind me of chicken satay which I happen to love. I added red onion to my slaw, used chunky peanut butter and did add some salt. I love most of chef johns recipes and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These burgers were delicious. Make the peanut sauce just before serving as a chemical reaction occurs and the spread got very thick and was quite difficult to spread, but still tasted great. I didn't add any extra salt as the soy sauce was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made exactly as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very well received by my family. The cucumber/carrot relish is the best part - don't skip the fish sauce! Followed the recipe except: used purchased peanut sauce, which I already had on hand, and added thinly sliced green onions and some extra chopped jalapeno and cilantro to the ground chicken (in place of the basil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Mid-way through his first bite, my husband mumbled "10". This is a vey tasty creation! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These burgers are a delicious, healthier version of comfort food. I used 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 ground turkey to decrease the cost. I also added an egg to bind the meat mixture. I needed a side dish, so I searched allrecipes and found Asian Cucumber and Peanut Salad (submitted by tammyn316). The two dishes paired perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsthinkIcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Excellent burger! Our new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I used ground turkey instead of ground chicken, but I don't feel that made much difference in the finished product. I felt the flavors just weren't there. If a recipe has 19-20 ingredients, you would expect it to have more flavors than this one. I even added the extra salt and cayenne pepper! Actually, there are times when too many ingredients mask one another...I think this may have been the case with these burgers, the slaw and the peanut spread. It didn't taste anything like satay, which I love. Not planning to make this one again. Sorry Chef John. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States