Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I make lunch for my aging father 2-3 times a week. I try something new each time to keep him interested in eating. My father isn't very verbal so I don't expect much thanks although I know deep down he appreciates my effort. With that being said, I dropped this meal off and left to do errands. Imagine my surprise when I returned to find a hand-written note from Dad telling me it was "Very good baby girl!" (yes it had an exclamation point) I didn't change a thing and now every other Saturday is now known as "Satay Saturday" per my Dad's request. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These burgers were delicious. I ate mine as lettuce wraps! They did remind me of chicken satay which I happen to love. I added red onion to my slaw, used chunky peanut butter and did add some salt. I love most of chef johns recipes and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These burgers were delicious. Make the peanut sauce just before serving as a chemical reaction occurs and the spread got very thick and was quite difficult to spread, but still tasted great. I didn't add any extra salt as the soy sauce was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These burgers are a delicious, healthier version of comfort food. I used 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 ground turkey to decrease the cost. I also added an egg to bind the meat mixture. I needed a side dish, so I searched allrecipes and found Asian Cucumber and Peanut Salad (submitted by tammyn316). The two dishes paired perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsthinkIcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Update...John rocked this recipe! Tried it this weekend and I could not get enough. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I was in the need to find a new way make a ground chicken burger! I loved everything about the flavors! I did add a bit more sambal to the peanut butter spread! I also needed a substitute for the fish sauce...( it is not sold in my neck of the woods) so I used a splash of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce! It was delicious! Also to the slaw I added thin sliced red onion....the slaw with cilantro on top gave it a refreshing taste! We ate them before I was able to snap a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Minter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made exactly as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very well received by my family. The cucumber/carrot relish is the best part - don't skip the fish sauce! Followed the recipe except: used purchased peanut sauce, which I already had on hand, and added thinly sliced green onions and some extra chopped jalapeno and cilantro to the ground chicken (in place of the basil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Mid-way through his first bite, my husband mumbled "10". This is a vey tasty creation! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Excellent burger! Our new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States