Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I make lunch for my aging father 2-3 times a week. I try something new each time to keep him interested in eating. My father isn't very verbal so I don't expect much thanks although I know deep down he appreciates my effort. With that being said, I dropped this meal off and left to do errands. Imagine my surprise when I returned to find a hand-written note from Dad telling me it was "Very good baby girl!" (yes it had an exclamation point) I didn't change a thing and now every other Saturday is now known as "Satay Saturday" per my Dad's request. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These burgers were delicious. I ate mine as lettuce wraps! They did remind me of chicken satay which I happen to love. I added red onion to my slaw, used chunky peanut butter and did add some salt. I love most of chef johns recipes and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These burgers were delicious. Make the peanut sauce just before serving as a chemical reaction occurs and the spread got very thick and was quite difficult to spread, but still tasted great. I didn't add any extra salt as the soy sauce was sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Update...John rocked this recipe! Tried it this weekend and I could not get enough. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These burgers are a delicious, healthier version of comfort food. I used 1/2 ground chicken and 1/2 ground turkey to decrease the cost. I also added an egg to bind the meat mixture. I needed a side dish, so I searched allrecipes and found Asian Cucumber and Peanut Salad (submitted by tammyn316). The two dishes paired perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsthinkIcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I was in the need to find a new way make a ground chicken burger! I loved everything about the flavors! I did add a bit more sambal to the peanut butter spread! I also needed a substitute for the fish sauce...( it is not sold in my neck of the woods) so I used a splash of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce! It was delicious! Also to the slaw I added thin sliced red onion....the slaw with cilantro on top gave it a refreshing taste! We ate them before I was able to snap a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Minter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made exactly as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very well received by my family. The cucumber/carrot relish is the best part - don't skip the fish sauce! Followed the recipe except: used purchased peanut sauce, which I already had on hand, and added thinly sliced green onions and some extra chopped jalapeno and cilantro to the ground chicken (in place of the basil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Mid-way through his first bite, my husband mumbled "10". This is a vey tasty creation! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Excellent burger! Our new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States