Chef John's Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
A lot of steps… not sure I'd make it again, at least not for a while. But it was good! I made as directed, but found it tough to get the chicken to the right thickness. Then when I folded it up, it didn't quite stay put. The freezing step helped, though, and it fried quite nicely . I baked for about 22 minutes. When we cut into them, only one had the butter gush out. But they all tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Great recipe, followed directions and turned out flawless! Only change I made was I added shallots to the butter. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Losenicky
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Recipe is great, chicken is very tender and delicious. But it's called Chicken Kyiv and doesn't have anything in common with Russia or Russian cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
First time ever making chicken Kiev. Although it was labour intensive, it was well worth the effort. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Made this today, and it was so, so good! Want to make it for a 12 person dinner party next month, and wondered if I could do everything except the baking the day before to make my life easier? Would I just have to add a bit more time to the cooking because they were put in the frig overnight? Would love to hear back if you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
To my surprise, given my limited kitchen smarts, this turned out exactly as described in the video - looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
While it takes a bit of effort, the end result is incredible. Chef John's video really made it easy to prepare. I never make changes to any first attemp and this was no exception. It was perfect as is. If there were more stars I'd give them. My wife who dislikes chicken, and always drowns it with ranch dressing; didn't touch the bottle and ate 2 serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I found this recipe perfect exactly as written no need to tweak or change anything.I always try the recipe first the way it is.This was great thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Absolutely amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Did not get the chicken to seal the delicious butter sauce but still tasted very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States