Chef John's Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I loved it! buttery, tasty, chickeny, food I have ever tasted! I'm definately trying this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andic
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was my first attempt at making Chicken Kiev and I followed eh instructions exactly for fear of messing it up. When you follow a Chef John's great video instruction, you really just can't go wrong. They came out absolutely perfectly! My husband was impressed and he thought it was delicious. I served it with roasted baby red potatoes and grilled asparagus. It does take a little bit of time to to do these, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Look no more for another chicken kiev recipe! There are other kiev recipes with more reviews, but this is the absolute best! My family loved it as it tasted like something that you would be served at a 5 star restaurant. Make sure you use fillets rather than the entire breast as it will take literally forever to pound it out into a thin layer. I didn't use a mortar and pestle for making the butter but I'm ordering one because I can only imagine that it'll make the filling taste even better. I froze the patties the night before and battered, fried, and baked the day of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is Delicious!!! Yes, it's definitely time consuming but worth every bite! Make sure you flatten the chicken breast evenly so it cooks thoroughly. But to solve that problem I fried and baked it a bit longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I would give this 10 stars. Delicious doesn't even begin to describe how this tastes. I do have to admit I did change 1 thing, I ground up my chicken in my food processor. When ever I pound out chicken breasts and try to fill them, I always lose the filling no matter what I do. Ground chicken was much easy to work with. The only bad thing was that the meat was sticky so I was wetting my hands a lot. The taste was exquisite, the absolute best I have ever had. The butter, garlic and parsley combo is perfect and the pinch of cayenne just brings it over the top. I didn't think the prep was really that bad, I think it was well worth it!!! Thanks Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely 5 stars (and then some) on this one! A lot of prep work but OMG the end result is so incredibly decadent it's beyond words. I served this to a private group of friends and everyone, I mean EVERYONE, just about fainted from either the butter or the incredible taste! Paired with a mixed salad and mashed potatoes...If you don't try it, you will never know. 5 Thumbs up Chef John! You hit this one out of the ballpark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
to stick the flattened chicken breast meat together more effectively, I would suggest that you add a touch of cornstarch (preferably organic!) to areas that you're sealing- it really makes a difference in how well the chicken holds together. I also use this for saltimbocca, and other stuffed chicken breast dishes. Flour works as well, but will affect the flavor, and may come loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Terrific and delicious recipe. I followed it exactly as directed and it turned out amazing!! Thank you Chef John for the rolling technique as well, the delicious center stayed put until the final reveal. I'll definitely use that technique with other stuffed chicken recipes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States