Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious even though I threw out the juices from the chicken instead of saving them and using them in the gravy. The gravy was still tasty. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have made this many times since finding the recipe and it's now a family favorite. One of the only dishes my kids are excited to eat. I omit the mushrooms and double the tomato sauce to serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great recipe! A bit labor intensive but totally worth the effort. Used legs with backs attached and an entire 14 oz can of tomato sauce. Served with spaghetti it made a really great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Easy and straight-forward. Only thing I did different is added chopped tomatoes with the strained sauce. Had more liquid which made a delicious rice or pasta sauce. Family loved it. Yumm! Made it again! Used a package of white pearl onions in place of sliced onions. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Followed the recipe, fairly easy to do, and enjoyed the final result. My wife, the neighbors we had over for dinner, and our children really liked the dish. Excellent job allrecipes, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was so delicious I'll be making this for the rest of my life! thank you chef john! I followed it exactly with thighs awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I too was disappointed that after baking it was sooooo watery !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorites! I use boneless chicken thighs, the meat is so tender! Lots of garlic, salt and pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was blander than I expected. I don't have a high tolerance for capsaicin, so I typically halve or quarter the amount of hot spices called for. In this I used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and couldn't taste it at all. Next time I'll use 1/2 tsp and more salt. I really don't understand why the recipe says to put the peppers on top of the chicken. You lose all the beautiful crispness that the chicken just got with the browning. The veggies released so much liquid, it completely covered the chicken. I would put the peppers under the chicken next time, which is what my instinct told me, but I ignored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy and oh soooo Delish!! I used 1/2 cup red cooking wine instead of the water. THanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States