Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by theincidentalchef
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
My mom used to make a to-die-for, iron skillet chicken cacciatore. Alas, I had no iron skillet, nor a Dutch oven so I improvised with the 12" skillet you see here. My Vietnamese partner who mostly likes Asian cuisine was quite satisfied and I was too. Give it a try! It's a really healthy, uncomplicated dish this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theincidentalchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This is really good, but here are the changes I made: used just thighs (that's what I had available) added black and green olives, add 1 C. wine instead of the water, skip the rosemary, added double the garlic and 2 onions, added double the red pepper flakes and chopped fresh tomatoes (drained juice) rather than the tomato sauce. I have never started it on the stove and finished in the oven but I love this idea-sounds like less tending! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Another great recipe from Chef John. Enjoyed this great Italian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tinyman1230
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This came out excellent!! If you like your Italian a little spicy I'd at least double the red chili flakes, otherwise, outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PriscillaMode
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I added some white wine to deglaze the fond just before I added the tomato sauce and I also added just a touch of balsamic vinegar while it was simmering. My chef said it was awesome! Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
As this is an American recipe I wasnt sure if tomato sauce meant ketchup. (It does to us Brits). I took it to mean tomato/pure/water. It wasnt that good. I think its supposed to be like a marinara sauce????? It was a bit bland to be honest but I will try again, this time using marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
So easy. I used legs and thighs. Drained all but two tablespoons of the fat before adding the onions & mushrooms. Increases garlic to the entire head. Served over rigatoni so I used 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce to which I added 1 tablespoon of sugar, Italian seasoning, & oregano to taste as well as some Asian 5 spice seasoning. Also added a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. Baked in a large non stick fry pan covered for 1 hour. Make some garlic bread with parmigian cheese for lapping up the sauce and get ready fo receive the accolades your guests will send you way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Fabulous just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
came out delicious next time I'll use less sauce was a bit too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent. I especially like how it is all pulled together and finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States