Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Easy and straight-forward. Only thing I did different is added chopped tomatoes with the strained sauce. Had more liquid which made a delicious rice or pasta sauce. Family loved it. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Followed the recipe, fairly easy to do, and enjoyed the final result. My wife, the neighbors we had over for dinner, and our children really liked the dish. Excellent job allrecipes, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was so delicious I'll be making this for the rest of my life! thank you chef john! I followed it exactly with thighs awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I too was disappointed that after baking it was sooooo watery !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is one of my favorites! I use boneless chicken thighs, the meat is so tender! Lots of garlic, salt and pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was blander than I expected. I don't have a high tolerance for capsaicin, so I typically halve or quarter the amount of hot spices called for. In this I used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and couldn't taste it at all. Next time I'll use 1/2 tsp and more salt. I really don't understand why the recipe says to put the peppers on top of the chicken. You lose all the beautiful crispness that the chicken just got with the browning. The veggies released so much liquid, it completely covered the chicken. I would put the peppers under the chicken next time, which is what my instinct told me, but I ignored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy and oh soooo Delish!! I used 1/2 cup red cooking wine instead of the water. THanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was one of the best recipes I have prepared. This Chef know his biz. I did change a couple of small things. I used Rao's basil and tomato sauce; added a bit more red pepper flakes and chicken broth in lieu of water. I used Spanish rice on the side of the plate. My wife just loved this; the house smelled wonderful and I am a "believer". Chef John - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Sauce was too watery and thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wonderful. Used bone in chicken breast; skinless as I do not like the skin. Everything else same. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Chef John's Chicken and Olives

Moist, tender seared chicken finishes in a savory olive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States