Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PriscillaMode
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I added some white wine to deglaze the fond just before I added the tomato sauce and I also added just a touch of balsamic vinegar while it was simmering. My chef said it was awesome! Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
As this is an American recipe I wasnt sure if tomato sauce meant ketchup. (It does to us Brits). I took it to mean tomato/pure/water. It wasnt that good. I think its supposed to be like a marinara sauce????? It was a bit bland to be honest but I will try again, this time using marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
So easy. I used legs and thighs. Drained all but two tablespoons of the fat before adding the onions & mushrooms. Increases garlic to the entire head. Served over rigatoni so I used 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce to which I added 1 tablespoon of sugar, Italian seasoning, & oregano to taste as well as some Asian 5 spice seasoning. Also added a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. Baked in a large non stick fry pan covered for 1 hour. Make some garlic bread with parmigian cheese for lapping up the sauce and get ready fo receive the accolades your guests will send you way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Fabulous just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
came out delicious next time I'll use less sauce was a bit too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent. I especially like how it is all pulled together and finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I did not follow this to a "T" but instead used it as a general guideline. I grew up having cacciatore every other month or so (at least twice a month in winter) over spaghetti. Instead of a whole chicken i had about 4 lbs of chicken legs. I substituted a jar of Classico Pizza sauce (about 2 cups), added a large can of diced tomato, a medium can of tomato paste - my tomatoes are dying and i love tomato - and waved a beer in its general direction. Also used fresh oregano - about equal to the rosemary -, 8 cloves of garlic and a extra generous splash of red pepper flakes. At the end I threw in a bit of Parmesan and stirred everything together. I would add a photo but I am ashamed at the state of my dutch oven. It is empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Glase II

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
tasty but sauce could be a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great recipe. So very easy to make. I used fresh peppers from the garden and since I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, I used a small can of Rotell tomatoes and a teaspoon of raw sugar. Your family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was quite tasty. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces than fourths, though. That would make it easier to brown, and you wouldn't have to cut up the pieces before serving. I made the recipe with only 3 bell peppers, and that was enough for us. I also doubled the red pepper flakes, and that gave the recipe a nice little kick. I made no other changes to the recipe, and served it over noodles. I deboned the leftie chicken, cut into bite-size pieces, and added back to the veggies and liquid. This will make a delicious hearty soup for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States