Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
came out delicious next time I'll use less sauce was a bit too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent. I especially like how it is all pulled together and finished in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I did not follow this to a "T" but instead used it as a general guideline. I grew up having cacciatore every other month or so (at least twice a month in winter) over spaghetti. Instead of a whole chicken i had about 4 lbs of chicken legs. I substituted a jar of Classico Pizza sauce (about 2 cups), added a large can of diced tomato, a medium can of tomato paste - my tomatoes are dying and i love tomato - and waved a beer in its general direction. Also used fresh oregano - about equal to the rosemary -, 8 cloves of garlic and a extra generous splash of red pepper flakes. At the end I threw in a bit of Parmesan and stirred everything together. I would add a photo but I am ashamed at the state of my dutch oven. It is empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Glase II

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
tasty but sauce could be a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great recipe. So very easy to make. I used fresh peppers from the garden and since I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, I used a small can of Rotell tomatoes and a teaspoon of raw sugar. Your family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was quite tasty. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces than fourths, though. That would make it easier to brown, and you wouldn't have to cut up the pieces before serving. I made the recipe with only 3 bell peppers, and that was enough for us. I also doubled the red pepper flakes, and that gave the recipe a nice little kick. I made no other changes to the recipe, and served it over noodles. I deboned the leftie chicken, cut into bite-size pieces, and added back to the veggies and liquid. This will make a delicious hearty soup for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used chicken thighs with skin on. The only thing I did differently was to cook this in my slow cooker on med. setting for 4 hours. Delicious, fall off the bone meat in a nice sauce served with bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
A bit mild, I will try again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious even though I threw out the juices from the chicken instead of saving them and using them in the gravy. The gravy was still tasty. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have made this many times since finding the recipe and it's now a family favorite. One of the only dishes my kids are excited to eat. I omit the mushrooms and double the tomato sauce to serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States