Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
tasty but sauce could be a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Great recipe. So very easy to make. I used fresh peppers from the garden and since I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, I used a small can of Rotell tomatoes and a teaspoon of raw sugar. Your family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was quite tasty. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces than fourths, though. That would make it easier to brown, and you wouldn't have to cut up the pieces before serving. I made the recipe with only 3 bell peppers, and that was enough for us. I also doubled the red pepper flakes, and that gave the recipe a nice little kick. I made no other changes to the recipe, and served it over noodles. I deboned the leftie chicken, cut into bite-size pieces, and added back to the veggies and liquid. This will make a delicious hearty soup for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used chicken thighs with skin on. The only thing I did differently was to cook this in my slow cooker on med. setting for 4 hours. Delicious, fall off the bone meat in a nice sauce served with bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
A bit mild, I will try again with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious even though I threw out the juices from the chicken instead of saving them and using them in the gravy. The gravy was still tasty. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have made this many times since finding the recipe and it's now a family favorite. One of the only dishes my kids are excited to eat. I omit the mushrooms and double the tomato sauce to serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great recipe! A bit labor intensive but totally worth the effort. Used legs with backs attached and an entire 14 oz can of tomato sauce. Served with spaghetti it made a really great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Easy and straight-forward. Only thing I did different is added chopped tomatoes with the strained sauce. Had more liquid which made a delicious rice or pasta sauce. Family loved it. Yumm! Made it again! Used a package of white pearl onions in place of sliced onions. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Followed the recipe, fairly easy to do, and enjoyed the final result. My wife, the neighbors we had over for dinner, and our children really liked the dish. Excellent job allrecipes, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States