Chef John's Cheesy Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I really liked the flavor of these. However, I am not sure why but my crackers turned out semi-soft and super chewy. I have made cheese crackers before and have not had that issue. I followed the recipe exactly only leaving out the cayenne. I liked that this did not make too much. I got about 45 crackers. I made some squares and some mini animals one. They did puff up quite a bit, but the kids ones I made did hold their shape and print which I liked. I cooked them until suggested, so not sure the issue with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
All I can say is "Woah Momma!!" Delicious!!! Will be making them again. My 3 yr old is super picky with food or snacks, this recipe got his approval! -- Omit the Cayenne pepper, or not, is up to you! Process was simple! First time making crackers and they were a success! We added a bit of garlic powder! Yummy! --- Thank you for the recipe. -- By the way, to those complaining about "greasiness" use parchment paper! And cool the dough before as told if you want to be able to cut them in shape! Just do what the recipe says! - Will recommend to my friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
These crackers turned out great!!! Will be making a lot of these for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocooket98
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Chef John this recipe Is THE BOMB!!! Incredible!! These crackers are Sooooo Flavorful...They honestly do taste like a true cheez it! This recipe is very forgiving also! I added a bit more cheese and never chilled my dough and they still turned out PERFECTLY crispy and Sooooooo Delicious!! I will make these Alot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Love love love these crackers, made the recipe as is and they were gone in a day. Can't wait to try it with different cheeses. I think I will try feta cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing! They're simply the best. I recommend following the directions in the video, since he shows you what the texture of the dough should be in each stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a very easy recipe to do and it taste just like store bought cheese crackers. Well use this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made these today and they are delicious but I learned a few things along the way. 1. Make sure your cheese is a warm as the butter, cold cheese is harder to work with than cold butter. 2. Do not re-roll the scraps, makes them tough and chewy, if you're making these for guests just nibble on the uneven ones. 3. Don't bother wasting your time docking them with a skewer five times just poke them twice with the times of a fork, 4. Use your hands to mix the dough, at least for the last few minutes. 5. They're easier to dock if they stay sitting next to each other before putting them on the baking sheet. 6. Do use foil but just spray it with non-stick spray instead of wiping oil all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These were amazing. So easy so make, quick and better than the store-bought ones. Next time I will substitute water for hot sauce, to make them spicy! I might try to substitue butter for coconut oil, to see if it could also work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luting k (lukab)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made these crackers so many times after watching Chef John's video. Every time they still gone in minutes! But now I cut the ingredients down to 5 and skip few steps, still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luting k (lukab)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States