Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just made this for dinner tonight. Delicious! I wasn't prepared to make it, so had to do some substitutions. (White onions for green onions, more soy sauce for the fish sauce) Even with the substitutions, this spicy dish was superb served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Really good! I omitted the water after a first try because it's a lot easier to reduce the sauce. I like to use Thai chili sauce instead of Jalapenos because I always have it on hand, that way I can really slam it together if I get the urge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
WOW, this is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!! My thighs were pretty big, so I cut my pieces a bit smaller. The flavors here are perfect! This could not have been easier to make, but it really seems like you spent some time in the kitchen. Served this over jasmine rice. I will be making this over and over, which is not gonna be good for my waistline, lol...SOOOO GOOD, and definitly worthy of more than 5 stars~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe was absolutely fantastic! Make sure you watch the video before making it because it's got some crucial things in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was so good. I really can't say enough good things about it. Only made 3 changes, I used oyster sauce instead of fish (just what I had) no cilantro no one likes it, and no jalapeno (didn't have any)! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
4 1/2 Stars- but I'll round up! Seriously one of the best Asian Chicken recipes I've ever made. The chicken was a perfect combination of sweet and spicy, the 1/2 star I took off was because I found the recipe a bit too salty. I'm sure this will probably vary depending on the brands of soy/fish sauce you use. I would start light on both then add if needed. I made half a recipe for my boyfriend and I with a side of sesame green beans and brown rice. I was worried it wouldn't be enough food as I only had 3 chicken thighs, but it was perfect, if not too much food. I had no troubles with the liquid ratio, but I did have a big pan with not much meat (and a gas stove). I would tend to think that maybe the people who are having trouble may be overcrowding the pan. All in all this is a wow-worthy recipe, definitely suitable for company. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Very good. So easy and tastes so good. I cut the chicken into smaller pieces and finished off the dish under the broiler. (My skillet is oven proof.) This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Chef John, I'd like to meet you some day and give you a big ol' hug! I love the way you cook. I made this for my boys and everyone was amazed by how good it was. And for such a simple dish, it had a really complex flavor that knocked all our socks off! The recipe is versatile enough to accommodate what you have on hand, or for your personal tastes. I didn't have fish sauce, so I substituted with about a teaspoon of anchovy paste in 1/3 cup soy sauce. The fresh jalapeno didn't appeal to me, so instead, I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes. The key ingredients for the sauce are the soy/fish sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, garlic and ginger. If you start there and add/subtract what you like/don't like, this will always be a hit. For those of you who had trouble getting the sauce to thicken; this dish must be cooked on high heat for the entire cooking time in order to achieve the right caramelization on the chicken and to get the sauce to reduce. I used the entire amount of water called for and my reduction took between 10-15 minutes. The sauce will bubble and foam. That's ok. That's what you're looking for to get it to reduce. Don't be afraid of how hard it boils. Let it do what it do!!! DO NOT USE BREAST MEAT! Boneless, skinless thighs can withstand the high temperatures required to make this dish. Breast meat will dry out way before your sauce is properly reduced. Fantastic with a side of steamed broccoli with a bit of the sauce drizzled over it. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
(I thought) I followed the recipe exactly and it took an hour for the sauce to reduce! We eventually ate and everyone loved it (or maybe everyone was just starving). I will try it again and omit the water. I cooked it in a wok...maybe that was my problem /:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifermo
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made this last night and it was bonkers delicious. Also totally fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifermo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States