Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Husband was not too fond of it but I loved it! Perhaps if I cut down on the sugar, use fish sauce which I could not find here in the Caribbean and add some vegetables husband may change his mind. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Loved it! Used sweet peppers instead of jalapenos, hot peppers are not allowed here. I did have more liquid than I thought I would, as the juices from the chicken were more than the 1/3 cup of brown sugar mixture that I added, but I just cooked it longer until it finally got down to syrup consistency. That added a good 25 minutes to the cooking time. It was a little too salty, next time I'll use unsalted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
The most delicious food I had ever made! And it's so easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
made this for dinner tonight. I left out the fish sauce, and added a full cup of brown sugar plus an extra tablespoon of soy sauce. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was absolutely amazing and I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Hi this is the first recipe I've ever rated, and I'm a fairly decent cook, but I have to say that this came out restaurant quality. I didn't have fish sauce so I just substituted for soy sauce, I also didn't have jalepenos so I added quite a few hits of Siracha sauce and one pinch of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. I also didn't have chicken thighs so I grilled up some boneless-skinless chicken breasts, sliced them when cooked and tossed them in the sauce after it had been reduced. If you start the chicken on the grill at the same time as the sauce and rice you should have no problem for the length of time other users commented about the sauce reducing, and then everything finishes at the same time. I did cut up some green onion after I took the chicken dressed in the sauce off the heat, and finished with some toasted sesame seeds. Yum! I couldn't believe how easy this was to make given how fantastic the sauce comes out. I will be making this one again and again! THANKS so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My family loved this recipe and I will be making it again. I used Jasmine rice, as suggested by another rater, and the taste was wonderful. It was very sweet, however, so next time I may add less brown sugar. My mother asked for the recipe as it is, so she also loved it! Overall just a great dish to do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made this the other day, and it was absolutely delicious!!! I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I had to improvise. I did not have fish oil so I added more soy sauce. I did not have jalapenos or green onion, so left that out. To add spice I added a TBS of korean hot paste. My husband said I can make this dish anytime I want to =) ( I did serve over korean white rice ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by substance777

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Followed exactly. Delicious but didn't carmelize. Read up on it when trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I try it, my family all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States