Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
DELICIOUS!!! I made it for my roommates and they loved it! I followed the recipe exactly (minus the peanuts and fish sauce 'cause I didn't have any) and it turned out great! ***WARNING: This is a somewhat-difficult and long recipe to make if you are using fresh items and are following the recipe exactly. Be prepared to be cooking for 1 1/2 hours. With that said, IT IS SOOOOO WORTH IT!*** Here are some recommendations when cooking: 1) FISH SAUCE SUBSTITUTE: .25 cup soy sauce + 1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce + 1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lime/lemon juice ***NOTE*** Nothing bets the funky flavour of real fish sauce. The substitute is an alternative, not a exact replacement for its flavour. 2) STEP 3: There is alot of sauce here. Use only 1/4 of sauce (AND NO MORE THAN THAT!!!) to caramelize the chicken, and put the remaining 3/4 in a saucepan to boil at the same time. Once the chicken begins caramelized, pour a ladle-full from the saucepan onto the chicken, wait until sauce has thickened until desired, and repeat until all sauce from the saucepan is gone. 3) FRESH CILANTRO IS CLUTCH TO THIS RECIPE! It really cuts through the flavour and gives you a fresh palate for the next bite. I suggest you cut the whole leaves in half before garnishing. 4) Serve on white rice ONLY!!! I would explain it if I could, but I can't. You must use white rice for this meal. Nothing else works as well. 5) WATCH THE VIDEO FOR THIS RECIPE!!! It really helps when cooking. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
good flavor but I think I over reduced the final product bc it was SOOOOO salty! will make again and be more careful with the final reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used 3 large chicken breasts cut in small chunks instead of the thighs. This was pretty good, if a bit on the salty side. Tasted like something you would get at a chinese restaurant. Served over brown rice and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We've made this 2 times this week! It is very easy & forgiving. Made a couple of changes, no jalapeño (have a 4 year old), and used Bragg's in leu of fish sauce (didn't have any) omitted additional soy sauce. First time stuck other wise quite strictly (used chicken tenderloins, oops, bought wrong chicken) and was a huge hit! A-fore mentioned 4-year-old LOVED it (very picky with meat)! So tonight had extra pork chop, so... Didn't measure except brown sugar, and used left over red onion instead of green onion, and extra garlic & fresh ginger& it came together quickly with little fuss! A definite favorite at our house, maybe we'll get brave and get some jalapeños too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I didn't have any rice vinegar, so used white wine vinegar instead, but other than that, followed the recipe faithfully. The chicken was sweet, but you could taste all the individual ingredients and the peanuts added another texture to the dish. I shall be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! My family loved this. I tasted it before I served it and I thought it was to sweet, but once you put it over rice, the rice cuts the sweetness. I'm a baker so I packed the brown sugar, next time I won't and see what the family says. This recipe is easy and packs lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwalker5

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was so good my husband let me make it twice in one week! The sauce is simple and so tasty I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Super good. The cilantro/jalapeno/scallions really go well with the sweet/salty chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was very good. As my husband put it, "restaurant quality." Half the kids ate it. I would have thought they would have enjoyed it more, as it basically tastes like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was fabulous. I made very minor changes - increased soy sauce to equal fish sauce - used seeded Serrano peppers rather than jalapeno (personal preference) - skipped cilantro and substituted with uncooked sliced scallions - addition - boiled broccoli for 2 - 3 minutes, drained and mixed in the sauce last minute or so. I also tried different nuts - cashews were good and toasted pecans were wonderful. Finally I did use cubes of chicken breast one time - I preferred that but hubby preferred the thighs. I always say I hate people that change the recipe and then rate based on changes but I feel my changes were minor and the "spirit of the recipe" was not changed. This has become one of our favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States