Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
OMG! This recipe was fantastic. For some reason, my sauce didn't carmalize (maybe because I accidently used light brown sugar, it was definitely cook error), but it still came out amazing. It was like a restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Wow! I wasn't sure what to expect, but before adding the jalapenos/onions/peanuts, it tasted exactly like chicken teriyaki from those Japanese places at the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very delicious, but slightly too sweet for me. Next time I will cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I used Kirkland frozen chicken breast tenders and they came out great, not dry at all. The only other substitute was using 1 Tablespoon of Sriracha instead of the Jalapeños (which I didn't have on hand). At the end I threw in some steamed matchstick sliced carrots and snow peas and then served over jasmine rice. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Turns out delicious. Don't be scared to use high heat to reduce the sauce initially otherwise it will take forever to caramelize it.I started out at medium and it took about 12 minutes to reduce even after turning it up to high after a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Memphis Dad
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I have tried from this place in a long time. I used the ingredients exactly as specified, except, believe it or not, my Kroger was out of jalapenos. I used some Anaheim peppers but of course they are not as hot, so I added a little red pepper flake. As others have said, watch the video before you make this and you will get some good tips and a feeling for what the chicken should look like in the first step. Make sure you use plenty of heat on the stove. It took me a little more than 12 minutes to get it caramelized. You are looking for a mahogany color and caramel starting to stick to the pan, with most of the liquid gone. Served over brown rice. Will definitely make again. The video warns you not to substitute chicken breasts as they tend to dry out. I'm glad I went with the thighs as directed. Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lommen's
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great meal. It took a lot longer to reduce down so cooking time for me was way off but its a great recipe and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lommen's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Carlos, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is so Delicious! We make this regularly and our kids love it. We now keep a supply of fish sauce in the pantry. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We used tofu instead of chicken, honestly? Nobody said a word, just devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States