Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by summaya
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
i made this for dinner tonight...it turned out to be amazing in the 1st try. i substituted green onions with white ones and jalapeno pepper with crushed red pepper flakes. plus i didn't have fish sauce so substituted it with (1/4 cup soy sauce +1tbsp lemon juice + 1tbsp worcestershire sauce). Would definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was very good at the time that you make it. Do not plan on leftovers. It loses it's yumminess the next day. Probably because I put it away with the rice. Definitely watch the video and then make it. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was way too salty for my family's liking. The flavor has potential, but the saltiness is too overpowering. Not sure if I want to try to modify and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Really great!!! Followed the recipe and watched the video which was very helpful. The only changes I made were.....made more sauce because I steamed red/green pepper and broccoli in separate pot and added to the mix at the end. Didn't use jalapeno but sprinkled in red pepper flakes for a little heat. Served over basmati rice. I think the next time I will add a little corn starch to the remaining sauce so it thickens a bit more. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent! Needed cornstarch to thicken sauce-otherwise great as is,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this but I did feel the fish sauce was a little overwhelming in taste & smell so I'll reduce it next time. I only added jalapenos to half cuz some of us are spice wimps. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I followed the directions exactly but my chicken was a soupy mess after 10 minutes. I drained all of that off and just put a little more sauce in to caramelize. That worked and then I put the rest of the sauce in. My family liked it but I thought the flavor was off - just no wow factor and it had a weird flavor. Maybe it was the fish sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used chicken legs since they were on sale, and the sauce did take longer to reduce, but the prolonged time just meant the chicken could really absorb that wonderful flavor. I may decrease the water next time as mentioned by someone else. I did omit the peanuts only because I didn't have any on hand. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
So very tasty! I've made the recipe to the T, as well with a few modifications and it always turns out fantastic. To ensure the sauce comes out nice and thick in a timely fashion, I drain the liquid from cooking chicken in the pan before I add the 1/3 c sauce. Then I whisk some cornstarch into the remaining sauce. The salt in the various sauces can add up so I use low sodium soy sauce. When I've not had fish sauce I've used Pad Thai sauce. When the chicken is done cooking, I've put it on a cookie sheet and let it sit under the boiler for a few minutes, which further caramelizes it & gives a little bit of a crispier texture. I usually serve with Basmatti rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It is divine! Thank you Chef John. Lisa - Netherlands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States