Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delicious! Loved how easy and quick it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I always try a recipe the first time by following the directions exactly, which is what I did here. Only left out the peanuts as they seemed stale when I pulled them out of the pantry. This was fantastic and truly restaurant quality. I loved it and my gourmet-in-in-the-making ten year old was raving about it. He said it smelled wonderful while cooking, said it looked great before he tried it, and then followed that with a Woohoo and requests for seconds and thirds. If that is not a win.... Don't know what is. Even hubby who hates ethnic dishes of all kind and usually answers in the negative when I ask "should I make this again" said it's ok. At my house this is the best I can expect for a new recipe. Next time doubling the quantity to have leftovers for lunch. Do watch the video, and if you like a mix of sweet and salty with a bit of spice, go for it. Some of the commenters who left negative reviews said it was sweet... Well, look at the ingredients! And as far as salt goes, I use a low sodium tamari instead of regular soy sauce in all my recipes, and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allegro
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Astonishing dish, thank you for sharing Chef John. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Beautiful flavours, A few changes helped. Cooked chicken in all brown sugar mixture until done , removed chicken and thickened sauce with 2 teaspoons of cornflour in 50ml of water. Then added final spices and returned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this last night....man oh man was it tasty. Just finished the lunch leftovers! This sauce is amazing! I followed it except I didn't have cilantro. I'll def make again. I have about 4 sauces from this site and I swear by them all, never use bottled sauce again! Thanks Chef John, you never disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious! My husband and two boys loved it and gave it two thumbs up :) My 3-year-old said it was better than macaroni and cheese ... that's quite a compliment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Watch the video! It helped me make the dish perfectly. I didn't add the water, per other reviewer's suggestion and it turned out great. I think the water would have made it take forever to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
well, i watched the video before making, but maybe i shouldn't have. i started cooking the chicken; added a third of the sauce as mentioned. the chicken gave off so much water (and i used organic if that makes a difference) that i wound up spooning out a ton of water, along with the sauce. had to do that a couple of times. so, after the pan was sufficiently dry, i added the rest of the sauce. it took about another 10 - 15 mins for the sauce to thicken and brown the chicken. i didn't have or add peanuts or the green onions. i had to use 'rooster sauce' for the heat. we all liked it so i may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Excellent Asian dish. Add sesame seeds. Peanuts are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My sister made this when I was there for a visit. It was so amazingly delicious! The only change she made was to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. She served it over brown rice. I had the left overs for lunch the next day, and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States