Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This dish is excellent and easy! I cut the chicken up smaller, and served over jasmine rice with a side of steamed broccoli that we all ended up just mixing into the caramel chicken. My picky partner who loves authentic Asian dishes, absolutely loved this. It's in the dinner rotation now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Well the chicken was not caramelized at all despite the huge amount of sugar this recipe requires, and the sauce was not thick, even after 20 minutes on very high heat. Too much fish sauce too. What I would do if I had to do it again (I won't): -decrease the fish sauce amount by half -don't double the sauce, even if you add veggies (what I did: carrots & broccoli) -hope this works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This definitely had that "wow" factor, and is now in our family cookbook! I'm not a big fan of chicken thighs, but I always make a recipe exactly the first time as a baseline. I couldn't believe how delicious they were - it's true that they hold moisture better than the breasts would. I may have poured too much of the liquid into the pan because it seemed to take forever to boil down and caramelize, but eventually it did. The end result was absolutely delicious and this will be in the rotation for sure! One note: Our daughter-in-law is Vietnamese and she has proven time and again that the quality of the fish sauce matters! We used Viet Huong "Three Crabs" brand from the Asian supermarket - it tends to be just a tad sweeter than other brands. You can use the supermarket fish sauce if you aren't close to an Asian market, but the taste will be slightly different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I thought this was very good. Just as good as something you'd get in a restaurant. I gave it 4 stars mainly because it's just a very rich dish. Between the chicken thighs and flavorful sauce, it was almost too much. Definitely need rice or something bland to pair this with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Unlike the video...the recipe didn't say to simmer when you pour in the rest of the sauce, so our sauce was overcooked. :( It seems like it would be a good dish if it didn't taste burnt. UPDATE: Made twice more and it is good. I don't like fish flavor or I'd give it a 5. My fiance loves it and asked for it a second night in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Oh my goodness! No more paying for takeout! I used what i had, red onion and pecans. This sauce is to die for! Thanks for another one chef john :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Excellent! My picky family ate every bit of it! Some of my family members are allergic to fish so I omitted the fish sauce (which I know would really kick the taste up a notch) but it still tasted awesome. My husband wouldn't stop raving how good it was and how it tastes like restaurant quality. The only thing I would do differently is to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup...it was a tad too sweet for our taste buds. I also added carrots, onions, and bell peppers so that the kids will eat their vegetables and they did. Overall, this recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
One of my favorite recipes! The fish sauce is a must. I've even used this recipe with leftover cooked chicken and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Chef John is the best! I love all his recipes, but this one stands out as spectacular. It's so easy, and the flavors are marvelously complex and rich. We practically licked our plates. I did not, and would not, change a single thing. This blows away any of those syrups full of junk in a bottle. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was super awesome. I accidentally used Seasoned Rice Vinegar and while I will definitely get unseasoned for next time it worked out ok (a tad too salty) Also used powdered ginger because I was out of the other and it was still 5 stars- although I can't wait to make it right next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States