Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe is delicious! My husband and two boys loved it and gave it two thumbs up :) My 3-year-old said it was better than macaroni and cheese ... that's quite a compliment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Watch the video! It helped me make the dish perfectly. I didn't add the water, per other reviewer's suggestion and it turned out great. I think the water would have made it take forever to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
well, i watched the video before making, but maybe i shouldn't have. i started cooking the chicken; added a third of the sauce as mentioned. the chicken gave off so much water (and i used organic if that makes a difference) that i wound up spooning out a ton of water, along with the sauce. had to do that a couple of times. so, after the pan was sufficiently dry, i added the rest of the sauce. it took about another 10 - 15 mins for the sauce to thicken and brown the chicken. i didn't have or add peanuts or the green onions. i had to use 'rooster sauce' for the heat. we all liked it so i may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Excellent Asian dish. Add sesame seeds. Peanuts are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My sister made this when I was there for a visit. It was so amazingly delicious! The only change she made was to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. She served it over brown rice. I had the left overs for lunch the next day, and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
PHenomenal. Halved the recipe and cut the chicken into small pieces, not quarters-- but otherwise followed it exactly. I practically licked my plate. I read other reviews that said it was too salty or fishy and am glad I disregarded them because I didn't find it to be off in any way. I could have it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe and thought it was just OK. My only omission was the jalapenos because I don't like them, so I don't think it would have improved the recipe (for me). I was expecting this dish to be more sweet, but it was very very salty and definitely fishy. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the sauce did reduce as expected, but for me, this just wasn't a 'WOW' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is sinfully good. I could eat the entire batch by myself. I change nothing, and I follow the directions. Mostly. The only thing that is different for me is the time it takes to get the chicken and 1/3 cup sauce to brown. It usually takes me more time, about ten minutes. It's totally worth the time, though, just keep it on high heat until it browns - it'll get there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is a love/hate relationship. First off and most important, watch the video!! There are valube tips on the technique of making this dish. I cooked this on high the ENTIRE time and did not burn it. Don't be afraid to use high like the recipe calls for. As long as your flipping or stirring frequently, you are not going to burn it. Also, the cooking time is off on the recipe, at least for me it was. Took twice as long to reduce and caramelize, about 15-20 minutes. The flavor of the dish is like teriyaki. I personally didn't think it was too sweet, like other reviewers mentioned. However, I too agree that this dish is too salty, hence the missing stars. It was almost too salty for me to eat the first night I made it. Others in my family did not think so, though. The leftovers on the other hand were just fine. The saltiness diminished overnight in the fridge. I might have to find a different fish sauce to use or adjust the recipe to my taste. Overall, though, I will be making this dish over and over again because my family and I loved it. Best recipe I've found on Allrecipes in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
A bit sweet, but the ginger and peppers are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States