Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This meal was absolutely fantastic!!! I have made two meals of Chef John's so far and both were delicious. I can't wait to try more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A-MAZING! This is seriously THE best made at home Asian dish I've made. Simple, delish...I can't say enough!! I L-O-V-E Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a new family favorite! I really enjoy all of Chef John's recipes and find his commentary very entertaining. We are always concerned with making healthy choices so I opted for less calories by using less brown sugar, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I followed this almost to a T. The only change I made was reducing the water to 1/4 cup. Also garnished with the greens from the green onions. One trick when making this, don't necessarily adhere to the approx cook times to get the sauce to the syrup stage. It depends on your pan and the heat of your stove on high. I used a heavy skillet, took 15 mins. First stage and 10 minutes 2nd stage. I will definitely make this again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was the bomb! And so easy!! Chef John doesn't recommend breast meat but that was what I had. So, I made the sauce, removed 1/3 cup to caramelize when cooking the chicken and reduced the rest before starting the chicken. Adding the already reduced sauce cut down on cook time so the breast meat remained moist. Don't forget the peanuts & scallions! They make an already amazing dish even better. I did use fresh flatleaf parsley instead of cilantro. Thanks, Chef John, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
All in all it was good but a bit too salty for me. Maybe less fish sauce. I know the cilantro is garnish but I did enjoy eating it with the chicken to offset the salt and add a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I followed it exactly, including having the 1/3 cup of water. I had no problems with it reducing as other reviewers had. It is a super easy recipe and definitely, definitely, definitely cook this on HIGH. Don't reduce the temperature at all until you get the consistency of the sauce that you want. Watch the video, it is extremely helpful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Made this tonight and followed the recipe to a T. OMG it was out of this world. The sweet, tangy, spicy, and salty flavors were perfectly blended. All of the well-chosen Asian ingredients give this recipe a professional flare. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Another fantastic, no-hassle recipe by Chef John. Made exactly as written. When making this again, we might tweak the brown sugar mixture to slightly tone down the sweet & salty tastes but it’s already close to perfection. Watch the video as it provides a few helpful tips, especially about caramelizing the chicken. Chef John’s creative artistry, user friendly recipes, and instructional videos can make just about anyone a great cook if able to follow his simple instructions. Chef John, your contributions are widely admired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I made this last night for dinner. Its full of flavor, contrasting flavors. You get some sweet, some salty, some heat from the peppers. Nice contrast of textures as well with the peanuts giving a nice crunch. Great recipe for us home cooks who try to channel Chefs like John! thanks .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States