Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
made this for dinner tonight. I left out the fish sauce, and added a full cup of brown sugar plus an extra tablespoon of soy sauce. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was absolutely amazing and I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Hi this is the first recipe I've ever rated, and I'm a fairly decent cook, but I have to say that this came out restaurant quality. I didn't have fish sauce so I just substituted for soy sauce, I also didn't have jalepenos so I added quite a few hits of Siracha sauce and one pinch of red pepper flakes to give it a kick. I also didn't have chicken thighs so I grilled up some boneless-skinless chicken breasts, sliced them when cooked and tossed them in the sauce after it had been reduced. If you start the chicken on the grill at the same time as the sauce and rice you should have no problem for the length of time other users commented about the sauce reducing, and then everything finishes at the same time. I did cut up some green onion after I took the chicken dressed in the sauce off the heat, and finished with some toasted sesame seeds. Yum! I couldn't believe how easy this was to make given how fantastic the sauce comes out. I will be making this one again and again! THANKS so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My family loved this recipe and I will be making it again. I used Jasmine rice, as suggested by another rater, and the taste was wonderful. It was very sweet, however, so next time I may add less brown sugar. My mother asked for the recipe as it is, so she also loved it! Overall just a great dish to do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made this the other day, and it was absolutely delicious!!! I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I had to improvise. I did not have fish oil so I added more soy sauce. I did not have jalapenos or green onion, so left that out. To add spice I added a TBS of korean hot paste. My husband said I can make this dish anytime I want to =) ( I did serve over korean white rice ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by substance777

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Followed exactly. Delicious but didn't carmelize. Read up on it when trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I try it, my family all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I bought some chicken thighs from the store and didn't know what to do with them. I searched and found this recipe. I changed it a bit since I didn't have fish sauce. I added a bit more ginger and some Worcestershire Sauce. I also added a little more water to compensate for the difference in liquid. Right before I added the jalapeno mixture, I turned the heat up like i wanted to glaze the meat. this helped to reduce the liquid. This recipe was wonderful. Everyone cleared their plates and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Chef john is my hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This meal was absolutely fantastic!!! I have made two meals of Chef John's so far and both were delicious. I can't wait to try more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States