Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I agree with other reviewers - watch the video. There are some important points made on how to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic! A treat meal for sure based on the sugar and salt included but really delicious so it's worth it! I skipped the water based on other suggestions and served it with sushi rice. I don't think the name caramel chicken gives a real indication of what this recipe makes, I liken it to the teriyaki chicken available at bento bowl shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was really good. I would use 3 peppers instead of 2 but it all depends on how spicy you like your food:) I would probably only use half of what's called for water. I added some more brown sugar to thicken the sauce. I also kept the peanuts until the very end and used them as garnish along with the cilantro. It was crunchy, sweet and spicy. I took precooked and cooled rice and fried it in a pan with sesame oil, lemon grass paste and green onions. It was the perfect match! Super easy recipe and tastes amazing! - Jason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ&M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is great, not surprising since Chef John's recipes usually are. I made substitutions based on what I had-oyster sauce, apple cider vinegar, and added some mushrooms and assorted bell peppers. Also left out jalapenos and peanuts because my 9 month old was dining with us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My 6 year old said " mommy, this is the best thing you've ever made". My husband's eyebrows raised in delight with his first bite. My 4 year old, after tasting it, didn't complain as loudly as usual about eating his dinner. So this will be a do-over for sure. Although with 3/4 a cup of sugar, probably not as often as my family would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! I just can't leave it alone once it is made. This is now our go-to recipe for when we have company over. Note - to get the full flavor out of this, you really need to boil down the liquid ("reduce"). The max flavor comes when the chicken is just starting to burn a little... Chef John - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe, came out as good or better than anything I have ever ordered at PF Changs. To those of you you having issues reducing the liquid (or who find there is too much water) note that most chicken in grocery stores is or was frozen at some point. I find meats that were frozen tend to "shed" more moisture when you cook them. I left the water out of this recipe as others have but noticed when cooking my chicken that there was a lot of moisture that had escaped (easily 1/3 cup in the bottom of the pan). I also found it easier to just reduce the sauce in a separate sauce pan (so not to overcook the chicken). So I think next time I will just brown the chicken in one pan and then reduce the sauce in another and pour it over the chicken to simmer. Note (probably like some of you) I have temperature controlled glass top burners on my oven which make it difficult to get that quick/high heat you need to reduce things. I imagine folks with gas burners have no problem reducing the sauce. Excellent recipe - it will be over a thousand 4.5-5 star ratings in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by summaya
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
i made this for dinner tonight...it turned out to be amazing in the 1st try. i substituted green onions with white ones and jalapeno pepper with crushed red pepper flakes. plus i didn't have fish sauce so substituted it with (1/4 cup soy sauce +1tbsp lemon juice + 1tbsp worcestershire sauce). Would definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was very good at the time that you make it. Do not plan on leftovers. It loses it's yumminess the next day. Probably because I put it away with the rice. Definitely watch the video and then make it. Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was way too salty for my family's liking. The flavor has potential, but the saltiness is too overpowering. Not sure if I want to try to modify and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States