Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Excellent Asian dish. Add sesame seeds. Peanuts are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My sister made this when I was there for a visit. It was so amazingly delicious! The only change she made was to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup. She served it over brown rice. I had the left overs for lunch the next day, and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
PHenomenal. Halved the recipe and cut the chicken into small pieces, not quarters-- but otherwise followed it exactly. I practically licked my plate. I read other reviews that said it was too salty or fishy and am glad I disregarded them because I didn't find it to be off in any way. I could have it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe and thought it was just OK. My only omission was the jalapenos because I don't like them, so I don't think it would have improved the recipe (for me). I was expecting this dish to be more sweet, but it was very very salty and definitely fishy. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the sauce did reduce as expected, but for me, this just wasn't a 'WOW' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is sinfully good. I could eat the entire batch by myself. I change nothing, and I follow the directions. Mostly. The only thing that is different for me is the time it takes to get the chicken and 1/3 cup sauce to brown. It usually takes me more time, about ten minutes. It's totally worth the time, though, just keep it on high heat until it browns - it'll get there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is a love/hate relationship. First off and most important, watch the video!! There are valube tips on the technique of making this dish. I cooked this on high the ENTIRE time and did not burn it. Don't be afraid to use high like the recipe calls for. As long as your flipping or stirring frequently, you are not going to burn it. Also, the cooking time is off on the recipe, at least for me it was. Took twice as long to reduce and caramelize, about 15-20 minutes. The flavor of the dish is like teriyaki. I personally didn't think it was too sweet, like other reviewers mentioned. However, I too agree that this dish is too salty, hence the missing stars. It was almost too salty for me to eat the first night I made it. Others in my family did not think so, though. The leftovers on the other hand were just fine. The saltiness diminished overnight in the fridge. I might have to find a different fish sauce to use or adjust the recipe to my taste. Overall, though, I will be making this dish over and over again because my family and I loved it. Best recipe I've found on Allrecipes in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
A bit sweet, but the ginger and peppers are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I just made this tonight and it's good and easy. I think next time I will add more than 1/3 cup to thicken. This sauce really keeps the chicken moist. I will definitely make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is my Husband's favorite! It is the only recipe that could convince me to keep fish sauce on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
OMG! This recipe was fantastic. For some reason, my sauce didn't carmalize (maybe because I accidently used light brown sugar, it was definitely cook error), but it still came out amazing. It was like a restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States