Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I try it, my family all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I bought some chicken thighs from the store and didn't know what to do with them. I searched and found this recipe. I changed it a bit since I didn't have fish sauce. I added a bit more ginger and some Worcestershire Sauce. I also added a little more water to compensate for the difference in liquid. Right before I added the jalapeno mixture, I turned the heat up like i wanted to glaze the meat. this helped to reduce the liquid. This recipe was wonderful. Everyone cleared their plates and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTiffanie Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Chef john is my hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This meal was absolutely fantastic!!! I have made two meals of Chef John's so far and both were delicious. I can't wait to try more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
A-MAZING! This is seriously THE best made at home Asian dish I've made. Simple, delish...I can't say enough!! I L-O-V-E Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a new family favorite! I really enjoy all of Chef John's recipes and find his commentary very entertaining. We are always concerned with making healthy choices so I opted for less calories by using less brown sugar, and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I followed this almost to a T. The only change I made was reducing the water to 1/4 cup. Also garnished with the greens from the green onions. One trick when making this, don't necessarily adhere to the approx cook times to get the sauce to the syrup stage. It depends on your pan and the heat of your stove on high. I used a heavy skillet, took 15 mins. First stage and 10 minutes 2nd stage. I will definitely make this again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was the bomb! And so easy!! Chef John doesn't recommend breast meat but that was what I had. So, I made the sauce, removed 1/3 cup to caramelize when cooking the chicken and reduced the rest before starting the chicken. Adding the already reduced sauce cut down on cook time so the breast meat remained moist. Don't forget the peanuts & scallions! They make an already amazing dish even better. I did use fresh flatleaf parsley instead of cilantro. Thanks, Chef John, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
All in all it was good but a bit too salty for me. Maybe less fish sauce. I know the cilantro is garnish but I did enjoy eating it with the chicken to offset the salt and add a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I followed it exactly, including having the 1/3 cup of water. I had no problems with it reducing as other reviewers had. It is a super easy recipe and definitely, definitely, definitely cook this on HIGH. Don't reduce the temperature at all until you get the consistency of the sauce that you want. Watch the video, it is extremely helpful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States