Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Not bad. But too much ginger. It's great at first, but it doesn't make me want to overindulge in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Loved it! Excellent recipe! Served over jasmine rice. Made as directed, didn't really "caramelize" but nonetheless delicious and easy to make. I might double the sauce next time to have some extra to serve over the rice. The jalapeño peppers added the spicy kick that we love. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
My wife generally doesn't like anything sweet in foods other than desserts so I made this last night with a bit of trepidation. But sure enough she loved it and so did I. I think it's the balance between sweet & salty that made it so good. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I've made it 5 times. Each time it was *amazing.* Do this. Then do it again. Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Used oyster sauce instead of fish sauce, 1 1/2tsp of chilli flakes instead of jalepenos, white onions instead of green onions (added in the beginning). For more flavor add a little more garlic, ginger and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Really good. I used a wok, counter to popular belief that it wouldn't carmelize quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Really good as written. I did have an issue with reducing the sauce...my error. I doubled the recipe and tried to cook it all in a wok. Too crowded. Had to drain the chicken several times to remove natural juices, remove 1/2 the chicken and cook in two shallow pans... then no problem. I let my 8 and 10 year olds watch the video and cook the second time we had it. Its that easy. Also husband and I did low carb it by serving over shredded cabbage and topping with bean sprouts. Next time over califlower rice. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
What an amazing recipe. Might be the best chicken I've ever made. In fact, it's only 8am and I'm craving it right now! A lot of reviewers said they couldn't get the chicken to caramelize, so here's the secret: you have to cook it a long time before you add the sauce. More than 6-7 minutes. (If you use thighs, overcooking won't be a problem. Chicken breasts won't do well with this recipe.) Cook until the chicken is seared a dark brown and the sauce sticks to the bottom of the pan. I didn't have jalapeño so I added a little red pepper, but not too much as I have a 6 yr old. I also took other reviewers' advice and didn't add water. All four of my kids loved this recipe as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
WOW. Made this on a whim using what we had on hand- bone-in thighs and no cilantro or green onions, which I am really looking forward to trying next time. We also had to do without the jalapenos as my two sons are totally heat-phobic... it was still SO good! I can't wait to make this again for the grownups, the right way, and maybe with some red thai chile simmering in the sauce as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States