Chef John's Caramel Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I did not change a thing. I have made so many recipes from this wonderful site but this is the only one I felt I had to comment on. The one thing that was off for me was the cooking time to get the chicken carmelized. Took me about 10 minutes or so. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I will not be making this recipe again. It was way too SALTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Followed exactly except used bottled jalepeno instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
AMAZING! I did a few changes, I did 2 parts soy/1 part lemon juice for the fish sauce, only half the amount of ginger, and added some corn starch to help thicken the sauce. Next time Im just going to skip the water instead of adding corn starch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I really wanted to love this recipe but I just couldn't. It was so sweet I could hardly eat it and my hubby hated it. I had to thicken the sauce with cornstarch because it wouldn't thicken on its own. I'm gonna use this as a base recipe and make my own adjustments. First Chef John recipe to disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was amazing!!! I wanted to rate it 10 stars! I followed the recipe exactly (after watching the video) and served it over brown rice. My husband and I forced ourselves to stop eating it, so that we would have leftovers. This is my new favorite chicken dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was really good. Hubby, who hates sweet main dishes, said "Don't lose this recipe. It tastes like the stuff from the Thai restaurant." The balance of sweet, salty, spicy was perfect. After reading all the reviews I did cut the water down to 1 tablespoon but otherwise did not change a thing. The cooking times were just right. The sauce was a golden, sticky, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
We didn't have cilantro or green onions. I had to sub pecans for the peanuts and it was still good. I was worried the jalapeno wouldn't really match the other flavours and I think it added just the right kick! I did find it very sweet so I may cut the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. I will make this again very soon. So glad to have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very yummy and the whole family (with the exception of the 1-year-old, but who can count that?) really enjoyed. A bit sweet for us, next time would definitely add less sugar. This was not a labor-intensive dish, but I made it so. We are extremely picky about our meat, no fat, no veins, etc. And chicken thighs make for a LOT of trimming. To make it slightly easier, I cooked the thighs in the oil first, then removed them, trimmed and chopped, and put back in the skillet. All the while I had the sauce boiling down in a sauce pan (FORGOT the no water tip, argh!). When I was done with the trimming, I added the sauce into the skillet with the trimmed chicken and boiled it all down for about 10 minutes. Doubtless if I'd not added the water this would have been caramel-y and gooey, as it was it was just saucy, but very tasty. In the future, since I did not really cook the chicken and the sauce together, I would go back to our standard chicken breasts, cooked quickly and the separately boiled sauce thrown in last. Thighs are just too much work in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States