Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crystal Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is by far the easiest and best apple pie you will ever make. I made it for our Icre cream social and it was the 1st pie gone. I am making another one today for my Family. You will love it : ) Eileen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This pie is absolutely delicious!! Just a note about it being too watery: If you aren't doing a lattice top crust, it will definitely be too watery, because not enough liquid can steam out. I don't recommend doing a crust die, either, unless it's one that cuts out about half of the crust, because it will otherwise not release enough steam. Additionally, you should allow the caramel sauce to cool quite a bit before adding it to the pie, to the point where it's like a thick syrup. The added cooling allows for more water to evorate from there as well. Also, don't cut your apples too small, or they will release even more liquid as they begin to break down; I suggest no more than six slices per apple. This helps keep it from turning into an applesauce filling as well. Finally, the pie MUST cool completely before you cut it. This will allow the apples to take up some of the liquid they released before, allow even more liquid to evaporate, as well as allow the sugars to congeal. That's it! Enjoy this delicious pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have tried several apple pie recipes (including Grandma Ople's) only to be disappointed...until this one! I followed the advice of some other reviewers and did a thing or two from my own experience. First, Cut the apples into 8 pieces each. I use 5 large or 6 small/medium Pink Lady or Cripps Pink apples. Second, make sure the sugar mixture is cooled off. I prepare the mixture first, and cut up my apples while it is cooling. Then simply toss the apples in the mixture before pouring them into the crust. Once the lattice top is on, brush the crust with 1 beaten egg, and then evenly sprinkle 1 tablespoon white sugar over the crust. This is finally a go to apple pie recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Easy and delicious! No adjustments/changes have been made. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I agree, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
i added flour to my apples so it wasnt runny as the other reviews said. and i brought it warm to my inlaws lastnight a absolute hit . thanks john and will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeeshap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was an awesome recipe, the directions are easy to following and it came out PERFECT, for the first time my pie looked like those in the magazine and cookbook. WTG Chef John!!!!! 5 stars to you.. and if I could I would give you more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t.barrows61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My family and I absolutely love it. It is the best apple pie that I ever had. Just make sure to let it cool down at list 30min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svetik
Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Excellent and very easy (except for the dough, which I am not an expert at working with yet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States