Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crystal Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is by far the easiest and best apple pie you will ever make. I made it for our Icre cream social and it was the 1st pie gone. I am making another one today for my Family. You will love it : ) Eileen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was fabulous. I did use Trader Joe's frozen pie crust to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this pie for 4th of July & my family went nuts for it! Simple & easy to make. If you use an apple peeler/corer/slicer to cut up your apples, you may wanna add another apple or two to the recipe to fill the pie a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe was very easy and it did taste really good but it seemed to shrink down too much for me. The recipe called for 5 apples and I think i will double that amount the next time I make it and double the caramel sauce too. But it really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Easy and delicious! No adjustments/changes have been made. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Quite an easy pie! I used the Pillsbury crust, and it tasted really great in this receipe. Do the lattice he shows in the video. Easy and pretty! My son loved this pie. I added 2 extra apples and extra cinnamon (about a tbsp). My only complaint was that the pie was very runny. I cut a few pieces and then drained off about 1/2 at least of liquid from the pie plate before I retuned it to the fridge. Perhaps I did not boil the caramel sauce long enough. I think the pie was fully cooled. I would make this again, but I think I might add a couple of tbsp of flour in with the apples to thicken things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good recipe but a little runny, add less water to caramel sauce and flour to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I agree, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
i added flour to my apples so it wasnt runny as the other reviews said. and i brought it warm to my inlaws lastnight a absolute hit . thanks john and will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeeshap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States