Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The carmel sauce is amazing. I always add a palm full of tapioca granuals to my apple pies and I never have a runny pie. (They absorb the extra liquid and can't be seen in the pie.) My Grandma's secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used red delicious apples, margarine in place of butter (all I had), and made my own brown sugar with a mixture of 1/2 cup white sugar and 1 tablespoon molasses (I was out of brown sugar too!). I only had 4 apples, but it was enough, and I cut the apple slices on the thin side and simmered them in the caramel sauce on the stove for about 5 or 6 minutes, covered, before pouring them in the pie crust, to avoid them being under done. I also mixed 3 tablespoons flour in with the butter as another reviewer suggested to thicken the sauce some. I was a little nervous because this was my first apple pie, but it came out great. Even my picky husband who doesn't like apple pie at all really liked this. Thanks again, Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This pie was the best apple pie I have ever had. I made sure to cool the caramel sauce before pouring it over a very open lattice top, to make sure that there was space for evaporation. I used it with the "French Pastry Pie Crust" from this website. I cut each apple into 8-10 slices to keep them pretty big. Near the end of the cooking time, I noticed that the crust was getting overdone but the sauce wasn't super bubbly yet, so I lowered the rack in the oven, and checked on it frequently. I think I left it in about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for. But it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wow, this is good! Even with the caramel sauce, this pie is not over sweet. For me, next time, I will add about 1 Tablespoon of flour to the sauce, because it is a little runny...tastes wonderful, but I prefer it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the same as Grandma Oples only difference is the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The first time I made this pie I used 4 granny smith apples and threw in some dried cranberries. I loved it and the pie was not runny at all. My husband thought it was too tart. The second time I used 5 gala and it was much sweeter but also very juicy. Think I will go back to granny smith and add a bit more cinnamon sugar to the apples. I love the caramelized crust! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValerieK63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
In the past, my go-to apple pie recipe was Grandma Oples. I still love that recipe but we loved this recipe too because of the addition of the caramel flavor. I used Trader Joe's pie crust (never bother making my own any more - TJ's are better by far and so convenient) and added cornstarch to the caramel like others suggested. The pie was amazing and did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was the second apple pie I have ever made in my life and it was probably the best tasting apple pie I have ever tasted too. This is High praise because I am not a baker nor a big dessert fan. Love the fact that I could watch a visual demo beforehand too. Everything this guy makes looks awesome. Hint: the kind of apple you choose can make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
super awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States