Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is the same as Grandma Oples only difference is the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
The first time I made this pie I used 4 granny smith apples and threw in some dried cranberries. I loved it and the pie was not runny at all. My husband thought it was too tart. The second time I used 5 gala and it was much sweeter but also very juicy. Think I will go back to granny smith and add a bit more cinnamon sugar to the apples. I love the caramelized crust! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValerieK63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
In the past, my go-to apple pie recipe was Grandma Oples. I still love that recipe but we loved this recipe too because of the addition of the caramel flavor. I used Trader Joe's pie crust (never bother making my own any more - TJ's are better by far and so convenient) and added cornstarch to the caramel like others suggested. The pie was amazing and did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was the second apple pie I have ever made in my life and it was probably the best tasting apple pie I have ever tasted too. This is High praise because I am not a baker nor a big dessert fan. Love the fact that I could watch a visual demo beforehand too. Everything this guy makes looks awesome. Hint: the kind of apple you choose can make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
super awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Pie was very easy to assemble and came out great. My guests gave it an "A".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owenton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
The caramel sauce was AMAZING!! I've tried to make caramel apple pie before with pre-made Kraft caramels, and this just made my life sooooo much easier and tastier! It was definitely a soupy pie and the juices would go SO WELL with vanilla bean ice cream, but if you like your apple pie a little dryer, add some corn starch to the apples. Other than that, this pie was slap-yer-momma good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this last night and it turned out wonderful! This was my first pie,I was nervous after reading the reviews that this would turn out to be runny but it was perfect, I let it cool overnight which may have had something to do with it. I will for sure be making this again and again, thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
To make the caramel sauce thicker, add 3 Tbsp of flour to the melted butter(roux) before adding the water and then sugars. The apple selection is critical when making a good apple pie. If your pie turned to soup or mush or collapsed it was the fault of your apples NOT this recipe. Granny Smith might be too tart and firm for some. Try Winesap, Braeburn, Pink Lady, Gala in season. Firm, sweet, spicy. Not soft. I know many people that swear by golden delicious but I have never had them make a good pie. July apples make for a great pie during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
thank you Chef John, The pie was excellent! I will be making this apple pie from now on ty again John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States