Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!! No need to make adjustments(except I prefer more cinnamon!!). I think this is my new favorite apple pie. It tasted even better the next day after flavors melded~ savored every bite! Really easy to make. I used a larger pie plate, so I increased the apples and the butter-sugar mixture. Make sure you follow the directions and pour the mixture over the lattice crust and cook until bubbles in the middle. Mine bubbled over, so you might want to put foil underneath. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is superb-but the directions are rather vague. I did however, cheat by using a deep-dish 9" pastry shell. The sauce is a bit too much-I leftover sauce. I used organic small red delicious apples-great for this pie. I used my crunch recipe for topping-I got great raves from everyone-best pie ever made. BTW, this is my first time ever making a fruit pie! I will use this recipe again!! But directions needs to be more detailed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The best apple pie I've ever made. Easy to make and delicious. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scootir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was absolutely delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very good and simple to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I won't use it again, sorry. I love all Chef John's recipes and had high expectations. This was kind of a let down. It tasted delicious but completely soaked through my pie crust and make more of a soggy apple soup instead of a pie. I followed the recipe exactly. I guess I could go through the recipe more carefully and find ways to make it less watery, but with so many other amazing pie recipes out there, it's not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful! My husband never eats apple pie, but said this one was the bomb! I followed the useful tips. Lightly floured the apples, cut the apples slightly bigger and allowed it to cool completely. The crust was amazing and the filling was light but sweet. This recipes stays in my recipe box! Thanks Chef John, I appreciate the videos so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and my family ate the whole pie and asked me to make another one on the spot, lol. They said it was the best apple pie they had ever tasted. I will be making four of these pies for Christmas. So, so delicious and so easy to make! Thank you Chef John for another wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessinstl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This has become my go-to apple pie. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broadview, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tried this as an experiment at Thanksgiving -- we had several other pies and desserts, so I figured that if it was a flop there were plenty of other choices. It turned out to be excellent and a very popular choice on our dessert table. It was given a solid thumbs up by everyone who tried it. It will now join the usual choices (pumpkin, pecan, blackberry-blueberry one crust pie, pumpkin roll). It was such an easy way to make a freshly-baked apple pie on Thanksgiving morning before the turkey goes into the oven. I tossed the very thinly sliced, but unpeeled Gala apples with 2 tablespoons of AP flour, as Chef John suggested as an option. I also used the maximum amount of apples. This was the sum total of the tinkering I did with the recipe. My daughter and I share the Thanksgiving cooking, and she very carefully tucked away the caramel-sauce splattered recipe print out for next year. It's a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States