Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was absolutely delicious and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very good and simple to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I won't use it again, sorry. I love all Chef John's recipes and had high expectations. This was kind of a let down. It tasted delicious but completely soaked through my pie crust and make more of a soggy apple soup instead of a pie. I followed the recipe exactly. I guess I could go through the recipe more carefully and find ways to make it less watery, but with so many other amazing pie recipes out there, it's not worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wonderful! My husband never eats apple pie, but said this one was the bomb! I followed the useful tips. Lightly floured the apples, cut the apples slightly bigger and allowed it to cool completely. The crust was amazing and the filling was light but sweet. This recipes stays in my recipe box! Thanks Chef John, I appreciate the videos so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and my family ate the whole pie and asked me to make another one on the spot, lol. They said it was the best apple pie they had ever tasted. I will be making four of these pies for Christmas. So, so delicious and so easy to make! Thank you Chef John for another wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessinstl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This has become my go-to apple pie. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Broadview, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tried this as an experiment at Thanksgiving -- we had several other pies and desserts, so I figured that if it was a flop there were plenty of other choices. It turned out to be excellent and a very popular choice on our dessert table. It was given a solid thumbs up by everyone who tried it. It will now join the usual choices (pumpkin, pecan, blackberry-blueberry one crust pie, pumpkin roll). It was such an easy way to make a freshly-baked apple pie on Thanksgiving morning before the turkey goes into the oven. I tossed the very thinly sliced, but unpeeled Gala apples with 2 tablespoons of AP flour, as Chef John suggested as an option. I also used the maximum amount of apples. This was the sum total of the tinkering I did with the recipe. My daughter and I share the Thanksgiving cooking, and she very carefully tucked away the caramel-sauce splattered recipe print out for next year. It's a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
First apple pie I've ever made that wasn't poored out of a can. My husband isn't an apple pie fan per say, but it really looked yumy, so I made it a rainy day project for my 4 year old daughter and I. I have a Pampered Chef peel/core/slicer which made this much less of a project, and more of a fun thing to do for her. It was not only easy, but it was one of the BEST apple pie recipe's I've tasted. My Husband Loved it! Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My two teenage sons made this pie (their first ever) for Thanksgiving to bring to our friends' house...YES, we took a big risk, but boy, did it pay off! It was so delicious, and out of the five pies there, it was the first to go :) The only change they made was adding one tablespoon of flour to the caramel sauce (since they forgot to toss it w/ the apples). PERFECTION! Thanks Chef John...we're making another one tomorrow. Definitely our go-to apple pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It was my first apple pie and i wish i had time to read the comments before making it. It was watery. Amazingly delicious but presentation wise- not so good. I will definitely make it again, but this time with lattice top crust (dont forget to use yolk or milk, mine was a bit whitish) and will add flour to apples. Cinnamon can be added as well +1 tsp, gives a nice kick. I didnt have time to cool it down enough, so that could be another reason for sliding out of cake apples. Overal - for 1st timer i got great comments despite presentation and empty dish at the end of party! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States