Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made the pie exactly-ish as written. Yes, when I served it 2 hours after taking it out of the oven, the filling was very watery. But by the next day, the extra moisture had reabsorbed. It was very delicious. Changes for next time: might substitute one part Crisco for a stick of butter. Will definitely let it rest longer before serving. A+ Tip: I used a silicone covered rolling pin and mat and had no problems rolling out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
After reading all the reviews, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding 3 T cornstarch to the apples to try to prevent it from being too watery. The pie was totally cool before I cut it, but it was filled with water anyways. After draining off the liquid, the pie cut very nicely and presented beautifully. I think perhaps I used the wrong variety of apple (MacIntosh)and will try the recipe again with Gala or Granny Smith. It was VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Wow. The Best apple pie I have Ever made! I followed the directions Exactly and ended up with a beautiful pie that earned rave reviews! Definately a 5 star keeper. The best reviewer advice, was to completely let the syrup cool, before adding. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Thanks Chef John, best apple pie I've EVER made, and I've made quite a few. Only thing I changed was to toss apples with 3Tbls. flour before putting into crust; makes a thick, bubbly delicious filling, and added 1tsp. cinnamon to sauce, simply because I love cinnamon, plus a few grates of fresh nutmeg. Used my own crust recipe. This is the BOMB! Granny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
We made this last year, I had never made a pie before it was easy and so so so yummy! We are making 4 more this year two to leave home and two to take with us to Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Easy and Delicious! I did add more apples then the recipe called for we prefer a thick pie!! So good! This is a no fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Taste great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Cabrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This pie is perfect. Don't change anything. I made a pie for 3 people... There was nothing left five minutes later. Simple and delicious. Thanks for another great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe three times now, and all have yielded amazing results. Twice I doubled the recipe and made two pies to share with my Mom. I love the look of the golden lattice, and the sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was amazing!!!!! I took the suggestion from others and added 3 tablespoons of flour to the butter before adding sugar. Mine was not runny at all. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States