Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best apple pie ever and I never liked apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Just popped in the oven, and forgot to read reviews. So far it's baking like a charm. The syrup was a little warm, so I hope that's going to remedy itself. I did add at least 2 tsp. of cinnamon as hubby always asks for more cinnamon. So far, I think this is going to be my go-to apple pie. Next time I'll brush top crust with egg and sugar per one's advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic apple pie! Be careful to pour the glaze slowly so that it doesn't spill over the sides of the pan. Also, be sure to cover all of the lattice crust with glaze. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tasty, easy, goes quick once you have the dough. I used honey crisp apples. Think I might make a little extra filling sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used yellow delicious apples from my FIL's tree and ended up doubling the recipe. After reading the reviews, I omitted the water out of it. Used 3/4 cup of each sugars. Instead of using 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, I used 2 tablespoons of apple pie spice. Instead of pouring all of the butter/spices on top of the lattice crust, I took 1/2 of it and tossed it with the peeled/diced apples. The other 1/2, I poured on top of the lattice crust. Even though I left out the water out, the butter/spice mix got thick as it cooled. Baked as directed. Took it to Thanksgiving dinner and my FIL said that it was the best apple pie he's eaten and was honored that the apples came from his tree. My husband loved how the bottom crust soaked in the juices. We ate the pie cold and it wasn't soggy at all. It maybe a different story if the pie was warm. This will be a must make when my FIL's apple tree is ready for picking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is the first pie I have ever made and it turned out really well! Even the little boy who announced that he "did NOT like pies" said "but I LIKE this pie". And I enjoyed the experience so much that I am trying more pies. Thank you to chef John for making my first experience with pies a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danita Banko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was such a hit…it disappeared quicker than the pumpkin pies I made :) Very easy, I followed the directions as written only adding a few extra spices and some vanilla to the caramel sauce. I chose granny smiths because I didn't want it to be too sweet. We loved this pie and I will be using it from now on! Thank you for another great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I used Honeycrisp and Granny Smith apples, and it turned out amazing! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This apple pie is great! I added 3 TBS of minute tapioca to help with the runniness some people warned about. 450 made my crust a little over done so next time I will probably just bake it at 350 for an hour. Great taste, it was a hit at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
THIS is my favorite Apple pie recipe around right NOW! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States