Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe three times now, and all have yielded amazing results. Twice I doubled the recipe and made two pies to share with my Mom. I love the look of the golden lattice, and the sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was amazing!!!!! I took the suggestion from others and added 3 tablespoons of flour to the butter before adding sugar. Mine was not runny at all. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Beware! This is really sweet!....as I figured it would be with a cup of sugar, but wanted to make it to recipe. Not that it is a bad thing as it tasted good, but just too rich for our taste. It was an easy pie to throw together and help celebrate the coming in of fall! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Enjoyed it. It was not too sweet; just a good balance. It seems like when you let it sit overnight; it taste sweeter but still not super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rowenna22
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I add about 1.4 cup of flour to this, and it makes it perfect! Just enough to thicken the caramel sauce! Yummy! I also back this on a deep cookie sheet, with parchment paper underneath it, as this has a tendency to bubble over and being on the cookie sheet with the paper cuts the clean up time in half! This is one of my go-to recipes for potlucks and holidays, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This pie is easy to make and extremely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of adding 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the butter and sugar mixture. As long as the pie is allowed to cool completely, it will not be watery when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
By far the best apple pie filling I've ever made! This is now my go to recipe. I have my own pie crust recipe and I like to add chopped pecans to this filling. It turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I tried this for 2, we ate the entire pie in a matter of days; so I then made 2 more. Same thing. Then I made a couple for our entire family get-together at Christmas, 2013. This is THE BEST apple pie recipe on so many levels but mainly delicious & easy. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. If this is any indication of the quality of Chef John's recipes, I'm definitely going to look at his other offerings. This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by nbrunner
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe. Followed some of the suggestions and cut the apples in large chunks. Also, I added Craisins, which added some tartness, and variety to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States