Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
super awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Pie was very easy to assemble and came out great. My guests gave it an "A".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owenton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
The caramel sauce was AMAZING!! I've tried to make caramel apple pie before with pre-made Kraft caramels, and this just made my life sooooo much easier and tastier! It was definitely a soupy pie and the juices would go SO WELL with vanilla bean ice cream, but if you like your apple pie a little dryer, add some corn starch to the apples. Other than that, this pie was slap-yer-momma good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this last night and it turned out wonderful! This was my first pie,I was nervous after reading the reviews that this would turn out to be runny but it was perfect, I let it cool overnight which may have had something to do with it. I will for sure be making this again and again, thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
To make the caramel sauce thicker, add 3 Tbsp of flour to the melted butter(roux) before adding the water and then sugars. The apple selection is critical when making a good apple pie. If your pie turned to soup or mush or collapsed it was the fault of your apples NOT this recipe. Granny Smith might be too tart and firm for some. Try Winesap, Braeburn, Pink Lady, Gala in season. Firm, sweet, spicy. Not soft. I know many people that swear by golden delicious but I have never had them make a good pie. July apples make for a great pie during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
thank you Chef John, The pie was excellent! I will be making this apple pie from now on ty again John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
It's important to use BAKING apples in this pie. Repeat after me: "Granny Smith". Be sure to let the caramel sauce cool before pouring onto the lattice crust and bake the pie on the lowest rack in your oven. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
my family loved this. I agree with the others though that it was liquidy, even after flouring the apples, flouring the bottom of the crust and slighty lessoning both the butter and water and making larger apple slices... maybe i will try it again and completely omit the water. The apples I used were 2 honeycrisp, 1 1/2 golden delicious and 2 gala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!! No need to make adjustments(except I prefer more cinnamon!!). I think this is my new favorite apple pie. It tasted even better the next day after flavors melded~ savored every bite! Really easy to make. I used a larger pie plate, so I increased the apples and the butter-sugar mixture. Make sure you follow the directions and pour the mixture over the lattice crust and cook until bubbles in the middle. Mine bubbled over, so you might want to put foil underneath. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is superb-but the directions are rather vague. I did however, cheat by using a deep-dish 9" pastry shell. The sauce is a bit too much-I leftover sauce. I used organic small red delicious apples-great for this pie. I used my crunch recipe for topping-I got great raves from everyone-best pie ever made. BTW, this is my first time ever making a fruit pie! I will use this recipe again!! But directions needs to be more detailed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States