Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
First apple pie I've ever made that wasn't poored out of a can. My husband isn't an apple pie fan per say, but it really looked yumy, so I made it a rainy day project for my 4 year old daughter and I. I have a Pampered Chef peel/core/slicer which made this much less of a project, and more of a fun thing to do for her. It was not only easy, but it was one of the BEST apple pie recipe's I've tasted. My Husband Loved it! Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My two teenage sons made this pie (their first ever) for Thanksgiving to bring to our friends' house...YES, we took a big risk, but boy, did it pay off! It was so delicious, and out of the five pies there, it was the first to go :) The only change they made was adding one tablespoon of flour to the caramel sauce (since they forgot to toss it w/ the apples). PERFECTION! Thanks Chef John...we're making another one tomorrow. Definitely our go-to apple pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It was my first apple pie and i wish i had time to read the comments before making it. It was watery. Amazingly delicious but presentation wise- not so good. I will definitely make it again, but this time with lattice top crust (dont forget to use yolk or milk, mine was a bit whitish) and will add flour to apples. Cinnamon can be added as well +1 tsp, gives a nice kick. I didnt have time to cool it down enough, so that could be another reason for sliding out of cake apples. Overal - for 1st timer i got great comments despite presentation and empty dish at the end of party! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this pie for my office Thanksgiving potluck today. The flavor was delicious. The caramel is a lovely counterpoint to the tart Granny Smith apples. I used smaller organic apples, so I had to use an extra one to fill the cruist. Since several reviews mentioned the pie was too watery, I added three tablespoons of flour to the caramel mixture, and let it boil down for a little while. This combination produced caramel that was too thick when it cooled. Next time, I will add the flour only. I made the pie with the French Pastry Pie Crust from AllRecipes, which I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Made this last Thanksgiving and my mother loved it!! She could not believe I made it!! LOL I used the pillsbury dough and it was tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by healthyme
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
OMG.. And I never say OMG! This recipe is really, really good. I know from reading other reviews that the water measurement was in question. All I did was use a spray bottle and spray the top of the mixture to get the sauce going and the moisture level in the pie was perfect. Without a doubt, this is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood Dale, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe just as it was. After reading the reviews, I was concerned about the filling being watery. I have had that problem with pies in the past. I did cook the sauce as per the recipe and let it come to a rolling boil. Then let it cool. I used 6 Granny Smith apples and cut them into 8 slices per half. Using the boxed pie crust that just unrolls, was so easy! Did the lattice top. I debated if I should use the cornstarch or flour and decided not to. I did just as Chef John said and poured the sauce over the top of the pie...lattice and all. Put the pie on cookie sheet and baked as directed for the first 15 minutes. Then put a pie ring around the edge and finished baking at 350 degrees. I let it cool on the cookie sheet. I was pleasantly surprised that my pie came out like it the recipe!! Loved the simple flavor of the buttery, cinnamon sauce with the tart apples! I am sure there are many variations that can be added, but if you want a pretty, delicious, homemade pie...this is one to try! I'm making one to take to Thanksgiving Dinner. That is saying a lot because there is a lot of pressure to make something that everybody is going to like! Thanks Chef John for another successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this today and it tasted very good. It comes out of the oven very pretty with the lattice top and nicely browned. As suggested I did flower the apples but it was very runny. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I did follow it to the letter. I would consider it more of a cobbler than a pie, because no matter how long you cool it, it cannot be sliced and must be scooped. I will make it again because it tastes great, but will serve in bowls with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love it! This pie turned out amazing. I did toss the apples in a bit of flour because I like a thicker filling. The glaze on the top makes this a wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walkingfit
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We really liked the flavor but I didn't care for how watery the filling was. I served it with vanilla ice cream and poured some of the filling over the ice cream. I've read through the reviews and next time I will add less water to the caramel sauce; cook the caramel sauce a few minutes for evaporation of liquids; completely cool the caramel sauce and toss the apple wedges in 3 tablespoons of corn starch or flour. Hopefully it will then be a 5 star pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States