Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rowenna22
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I add about 1.4 cup of flour to this, and it makes it perfect! Just enough to thicken the caramel sauce! Yummy! I also back this on a deep cookie sheet, with parchment paper underneath it, as this has a tendency to bubble over and being on the cookie sheet with the paper cuts the clean up time in half! This is one of my go-to recipes for potlucks and holidays, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This pie is easy to make and extremely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of adding 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the butter and sugar mixture. As long as the pie is allowed to cool completely, it will not be watery when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
By far the best apple pie filling I've ever made! This is now my go to recipe. I have my own pie crust recipe and I like to add chopped pecans to this filling. It turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I tried this for 2, we ate the entire pie in a matter of days; so I then made 2 more. Same thing. Then I made a couple for our entire family get-together at Christmas, 2013. This is THE BEST apple pie recipe on so many levels but mainly delicious & easy. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. If this is any indication of the quality of Chef John's recipes, I'm definitely going to look at his other offerings. This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by nbrunner
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe. Followed some of the suggestions and cut the apples in large chunks. Also, I added Craisins, which added some tartness, and variety to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The pie is simple and tasty. You get a really crunchy, buttery crust that's delicious! I did follow reviewer's suggestion of adding 3 tbsp. of cornstarch to the apples and generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I used almost the whole lemon. I also used 2 galas and 2 Granny Smiths. Next time I will add cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the apples. 4 stars because it is really good but cornstarch does need to added or you'll have a runny pie. Recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is incredibly yummy. I only departed from the original recipe in sprinkling cinnamon sugar over the apples prior to adding the lattice, given that I was using some rather mealy-tasting mcintosh apples. Turned out fantastic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoraRustad
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it, but I made a few changes. One of the reviews suggested to make the caramel sauce thicker by adding 3 Tbsp of flour to the melted butter before adding the water and sugars. I also used around 6 apples that were cut pretty thin. When the caramel sauce is cool, layer the apples and caramel sauce. I put a layer of apples, then I drizzled a layer of caramel sauce amd then another layer of apples then caramel sauce and so on which I used probably half of the mixture, the rest I poured on the top of the pie on the lattice strips... I also used a different pie crust that is flaky called the best ever pie crust on this website. My picture is the one posted on November 28, 2013. People couldn't believe that I made it being only 14. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best pie ever!!! It was ridiculously good; everyone loved it. It was beautiful to look at and tasted great. Followed the recipe exact except I used less water in the caramel, floured the apples, and put egg white on the crust so it would brown. I used gala and pink lady's. it was not watery, it was oozing caramel, which was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States