Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this pie for my office Thanksgiving potluck today. The flavor was delicious. The caramel is a lovely counterpoint to the tart Granny Smith apples. I used smaller organic apples, so I had to use an extra one to fill the cruist. Since several reviews mentioned the pie was too watery, I added three tablespoons of flour to the caramel mixture, and let it boil down for a little while. This combination produced caramel that was too thick when it cooled. Next time, I will add the flour only. I made the pie with the French Pastry Pie Crust from AllRecipes, which I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Made this last Thanksgiving and my mother loved it!! She could not believe I made it!! LOL I used the pillsbury dough and it was tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by healthyme
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
OMG.. And I never say OMG! This recipe is really, really good. I know from reading other reviews that the water measurement was in question. All I did was use a spray bottle and spray the top of the mixture to get the sauce going and the moisture level in the pie was perfect. Without a doubt, this is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood Dale, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe just as it was. After reading the reviews, I was concerned about the filling being watery. I have had that problem with pies in the past. I did cook the sauce as per the recipe and let it come to a rolling boil. Then let it cool. I used 6 Granny Smith apples and cut them into 8 slices per half. Using the boxed pie crust that just unrolls, was so easy! Did the lattice top. I debated if I should use the cornstarch or flour and decided not to. I did just as Chef John said and poured the sauce over the top of the pie...lattice and all. Put the pie on cookie sheet and baked as directed for the first 15 minutes. Then put a pie ring around the edge and finished baking at 350 degrees. I let it cool on the cookie sheet. I was pleasantly surprised that my pie came out like it the recipe!! Loved the simple flavor of the buttery, cinnamon sauce with the tart apples! I am sure there are many variations that can be added, but if you want a pretty, delicious, homemade pie...this is one to try! I'm making one to take to Thanksgiving Dinner. That is saying a lot because there is a lot of pressure to make something that everybody is going to like! Thanks Chef John for another successful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this today and it tasted very good. It comes out of the oven very pretty with the lattice top and nicely browned. As suggested I did flower the apples but it was very runny. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I did follow it to the letter. I would consider it more of a cobbler than a pie, because no matter how long you cool it, it cannot be sliced and must be scooped. I will make it again because it tastes great, but will serve in bowls with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love it! This pie turned out amazing. I did toss the apples in a bit of flour because I like a thicker filling. The glaze on the top makes this a wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walkingfit
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We really liked the flavor but I didn't care for how watery the filling was. I served it with vanilla ice cream and poured some of the filling over the ice cream. I've read through the reviews and next time I will add less water to the caramel sauce; cook the caramel sauce a few minutes for evaporation of liquids; completely cool the caramel sauce and toss the apple wedges in 3 tablespoons of corn starch or flour. Hopefully it will then be a 5 star pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Not as hard as I thought. With some patience and dexterity, all your friends and family will want to try it. I'd also recommend using making own pastry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikox94

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Overall i really liked this recipe! There are wild apple trees near my house, so I picked those and used them in the pie instead of buying from the store. I am not sure what kind they are, but they are firm, and a good balance of sweet/tart. I like a more complex spice flavor, so when I made the sauce I added a bit more cinnamon, a couple sprinkles of pumpkin pie spice mix (allspice, nutmeg, clove, cinnamon), one whole clove crushed, and a splash of pure vanilla extract. The resulting flavor was AMAZING! After cutting the apples, I tossed them in a few tablespoons of flour to coat them to help absorb some of the liquid, as many reviewers mentioned they had a lot of excess juice. This did help the final product, though there was still a little more juice than I like. Next time i will add a bit more flour to coat the apples, and I will also cook the caramel sauce a minute or two longer to try to get it a bit thicker. I did a lattice top pie and used Chef John's recipe for Easy Homemade Pie Crust which came out beautifully. I would not do a "closed" top pie with this recipe because i fear there would be a lot more juice trapped in there. The lattice top helps with the evaporation of the juice. Will definitely be making again with the next batch of apples I pick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
great pie just put alittle corn starch in it and it well be even better unless you like really runny pie I have made it both ways and the corn starch makes all the difference in the world and use at least 3 to 4 different apples gives it a better flavor love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States