Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
By far the best apple pie filling I've ever made! This is now my go to recipe. I have my own pie crust recipe and I like to add chopped pecans to this filling. It turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I tried this for 2, we ate the entire pie in a matter of days; so I then made 2 more. Same thing. Then I made a couple for our entire family get-together at Christmas, 2013. This is THE BEST apple pie recipe on so many levels but mainly delicious & easy. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. If this is any indication of the quality of Chef John's recipes, I'm definitely going to look at his other offerings. This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by nbrunner
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe. Followed some of the suggestions and cut the apples in large chunks. Also, I added Craisins, which added some tartness, and variety to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The pie is simple and tasty. You get a really crunchy, buttery crust that's delicious! I did follow reviewer's suggestion of adding 3 tbsp. of cornstarch to the apples and generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I used almost the whole lemon. I also used 2 galas and 2 Granny Smiths. Next time I will add cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the apples. 4 stars because it is really good but cornstarch does need to added or you'll have a runny pie. Recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is incredibly yummy. I only departed from the original recipe in sprinkling cinnamon sugar over the apples prior to adding the lattice, given that I was using some rather mealy-tasting mcintosh apples. Turned out fantastic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoraRustad
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it, but I made a few changes. One of the reviews suggested to make the caramel sauce thicker by adding 3 Tbsp of flour to the melted butter before adding the water and sugars. I also used around 6 apples that were cut pretty thin. When the caramel sauce is cool, layer the apples and caramel sauce. I put a layer of apples, then I drizzled a layer of caramel sauce amd then another layer of apples then caramel sauce and so on which I used probably half of the mixture, the rest I poured on the top of the pie on the lattice strips... I also used a different pie crust that is flaky called the best ever pie crust on this website. My picture is the one posted on November 28, 2013. People couldn't believe that I made it being only 14. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best pie ever!!! It was ridiculously good; everyone loved it. It was beautiful to look at and tasted great. Followed the recipe exact except I used less water in the caramel, floured the apples, and put egg white on the crust so it would brown. I used gala and pink lady's. it was not watery, it was oozing caramel, which was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The carmel sauce is amazing. I always add a palm full of tapioca granuals to my apple pies and I never have a runny pie. (They absorb the extra liquid and can't be seen in the pie.) My Grandma's secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States