Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This recipe is basically no fail! I've tried so many Apple pie recipes even from some top rated pie shops and I must say everytime I've made this it comes out fantastic! I do a couple of things different and I've even done this with a crumble topping DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnVolsFan
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So tasty. My only problem was the pie crust just under the rim of pie was really stuck to the pan. Curious if anyone knows why that might have happened? Didn't crimp tight enoughmaybe? I still gave 5 stars because of its delicious flavor. In my experience it isn't a pie that is going to cut and plate like something from a magazine but the flavor is so good no one is going to care! Before cutting it was beautiful. I didn't have gala apples, used a michigan variety and I did toss apples in two tablespoons of flour like Chef John mentioned. Yum. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnVolsFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best apple pie ever and I never liked apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Just popped in the oven, and forgot to read reviews. So far it's baking like a charm. The syrup was a little warm, so I hope that's going to remedy itself. I did add at least 2 tsp. of cinnamon as hubby always asks for more cinnamon. So far, I think this is going to be my go-to apple pie. Next time I'll brush top crust with egg and sugar per one's advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic apple pie! Be careful to pour the glaze slowly so that it doesn't spill over the sides of the pan. Also, be sure to cover all of the lattice crust with glaze. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tasty, easy, goes quick once you have the dough. I used honey crisp apples. Think I might make a little extra filling sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used yellow delicious apples from my FIL's tree and ended up doubling the recipe. After reading the reviews, I omitted the water out of it. Used 3/4 cup of each sugars. Instead of using 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, I used 2 tablespoons of apple pie spice. Instead of pouring all of the butter/spices on top of the lattice crust, I took 1/2 of it and tossed it with the peeled/diced apples. The other 1/2, I poured on top of the lattice crust. Even though I left out the water out, the butter/spice mix got thick as it cooled. Baked as directed. Took it to Thanksgiving dinner and my FIL said that it was the best apple pie he's eaten and was honored that the apples came from his tree. My husband loved how the bottom crust soaked in the juices. We ate the pie cold and it wasn't soggy at all. It maybe a different story if the pie was warm. This will be a must make when my FIL's apple tree is ready for picking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is the first pie I have ever made and it turned out really well! Even the little boy who announced that he "did NOT like pies" said "but I LIKE this pie". And I enjoyed the experience so much that I am trying more pies. Thank you to chef John for making my first experience with pies a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danita Banko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was such a hit…it disappeared quicker than the pumpkin pies I made :) Very easy, I followed the directions as written only adding a few extra spices and some vanilla to the caramel sauce. I chose granny smiths because I didn't want it to be too sweet. We loved this pie and I will be using it from now on! Thank you for another great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Absolutely awesome! I used Honeycrisp and Granny Smith apples, and it turned out amazing! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States